We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we visited this once lovely hotel last week We have been staying at the Prince of Wales twice a year for many years & every time we visit are hoping that the Britannia company have pulled there socks up & made some improvements but sadly yet again we have been disappointed so we think that it will be probably be our last stay there The company only seems intrested in the coach trade & no thought at all for the individual vistors The staff are all glum & unhelpful ( apart from one young girl on reception who had only started there last week ) I really dont think that we will be returning here How very sad as it was always one of the highlights of our year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyeaterLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

You guessed it by the title. I would not stay at this hotel again.
The hotel is big, old and in serious need of some renovation. There is paint peeling almost everywhere. The windows were filthy , there was black mould around the bath and the shower head was broken.
However the bedding was clean and the bed was ok.
Breakfast was passable, although they do advertise fresh fruit that was actually tinned. You are left to your own devices, and have yo chase the staff for tea or coffee.
There is internet - but only in reception.
The staff at the reception were ok, some were undergoing some training, and were new to customer demands.
The hotel was pretty much full - mainly a coach party stop. And mainly pensioner age. This would be a good stop for this type of clientele.
There is a car park - but you have to pay to use it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is an old hotel in need of refurbishment.

Possibly due to the size of the hotel it's clearly understaffed and the ones they do have are poorly trained.

The breakfast was average at best if you accept the fact you are basically ignored.

I wouldn't return given the option but I'm sure they will be kept busy by the non stop flood of 70+ year old that were there. Avoid this place if you're not a pensioner!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank PaulFurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Room 133 ...avoid!,, smelly corridor, hot room with only a partial window that has a coating so you cannot see out. Sticky carpet, dirty cup was left in the room where the milk carton was stuck to the saucer! Very worn out mattress. There must have been a leak at some point and marks still on ceiling and carpets. Only 81 car parking apces 140ish rooms and they allow non residents to park there too!! Definately wouldnt stay again very disappointing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillystace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay and I must say I was very very pleased with the hotel, not usual place for me to stay. The room was clean and tidy and met my needs. The food was excellent. The service from the staff was superb very helpful and always smiling. Having gone out each day returned to the hotel in the evening and all 3 nights included in house entertainment.overall fully enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gezmorrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a dance break. I have stayed here before and find that the location is ideal for access to most of all you need to get to in the town, walking distance to the beach and promenade and pier. It is right on Lord street and walking distance to the station,
The food is plentifull and a good choice, its clean and the staff are pleasant and helpfull.The room I had was on the lower floor but these are spa rooms and are really lovely and of a good size so don't be put off.
I have already booked a return stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned after spending 4 nights there with quite a large group. Really enjoyed it, food good, nothing wrong with the rooms, all the staff very friendly & helpful, bar prices very reasonable. Would definitely return.



Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £36 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing