We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“POOR”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just returned from 2 night stay.Honestly this is probably one of the poorest uk hotels we have stayed in.The place needs a facelift both the public spaces and bedrooms are shabby.The restaurant was dire,we had booked dinner,bed and breakfast but honestly wished we hadn't.The food was awful at dinner,cold undercooked and in the case of desserts absent they had all gone there was just a vat of warm watery custard left! Breakfast was better but not much.We had booked an executive room which was large,clean and bright but had an interconnecting door through which we could hear every word from next door.Also above us when people walked about we were subjected to creaking floorboards.Altogether we will not be staying here again even though it is in a good position on Lord st.Britannia Hotels need to update this shabby hotel.

Room Tip: Don t have an interconnecting room you can hear everything from next door!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    391
    343
    231
    312
See reviews for
278
669
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glossop
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just back from a weekend break at the Prince of Wales Hotel.

Having read some rather damming reviews we were expecting the worst, but the hotel isn’t that bad.

Yes, parts of the Hotel are a bit dated, but this is to be expected from a Hotel built in the Victorian age, but retaining some of the original features, like the large fireplace in the Foyer and the large ballroom, does give it some character.

On check in we received a free upgrade to a “Executive Twin Room” on the lower floor. Very impressed - The room was large, modern and nicely decorated. The only thing dated in the room was the small CRT TV. However, the bathroom was modern with a large Jacuzzi bath and overhead power shower.

We decided to eat in and sample the “Buffet Dinner” at £9.99, which included a free drink. This turned out to be excellent value, with plenty to choose from. Couldn’t fault the food or the service and where else could you enjoy a four course meal with a glass of wine for under a tenner !!!

The Buffet Breakfast was also very good with the usual selection of fruit juices, cereals, yoghurt, Danish pastries, toast, croissants and a “Full English”, to choose from.

So, all-in-all it was a most enjoyable break which we considered good value for money and we would definitely consider staying there again.

One thing to be mindful of though is the parking. There is only car parking space for 81 cars on a “first come-first served” basis and even this is quite tight and tricky, especially if you have a large car, but at £2 per day, the cost is very reasonable for Southport.

Room Tip: The Exucutive Twin rooms on the lower floor are more spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Came from Midlands for nephews wedding. The food at this hotel is beyond bad. The soup was like water. The roast chicken was in fact boiled chicken. Most did not eat, and then the dessert, what can only be described as slop.
My nephew and his bride stayed the night and the room was so dated, couldn't believe what we saw. Would have been better staying at a Premier Inn.
To anyone thinking of holding a Wedding here, please think again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I'm sure that this hotel was really stunning in its day but it presently needs a lot of tender loving care. The foyer remains quite grand but once down the corridor you can see the need for decoration - little things like the windowsill in the bathroom could be put right without much bother. Also comfort wise, the mattress on our bed needed to be replaced as the springs were felt through it and the bath towels were so small.

Staff that we came into contact with were very friendly, however at times in the restaurant help had to be sought and was not readily available. Breakfast was great but evening meals were a bit look school dinners apart from the starters.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My elderly mother has just returned from a coach trip to this hotel in tears. She is disabled and had booked a room on the ground floor. She was told one wasn't available and as the lift was broken had to climb four flights of stairs to her room on the second floor.The breakfast was cold and inedible, toast like leather and grey tea. The tea pots were disgusting. The evening meals were like being in a care home. Cold plates, lukewarm roasts, partly cooked roast potatoes, custard like milk. Very poor quality.
Needs redecorating and updating. Staff very unhelpful. Same entertainment every night.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nirvanaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent position on Lord Street.
A lovely Victorian building with lots of character (a lovely coal fire roaring in the foyer during the winter months). There are plenty of comfortable chairs and a calm ambience, suited to reading or quiet conversation.The ballroom is a wonderful room with domed glass ceiling.
The bedrooms are a reasonable size, but a little tired. They really do need to be brought into the 21st century.
The dining room is hot, the tables quite small for 4 and the staff are rushed off their feet. The buffet is a little chaotic as the food is not in a logical order. The food is average.
The reception staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We Stayed here for one night on 2/08/2014. Check -in was easy and girl on reception was friendly, she let us check-in even though we were early. The room was big and clean with nice big clean bathroom. The tv was a small old style portable, the bed was a double, but seemed small compared to other hotels but was comfortable. We included the breakfast buffet in the cost of the room for an extra £10 for two, this was good value as there is a good selection of items with good bacon and cereals. The hotel has some really nice old features but could do with an upgrade. Overall it is a good value hotel for a few days stay and very well located for the shops, bars and seafront. We found a nice Chinese Restaurant just round the corner on the road towards the seafront, food was good and reasonable prices. There is also a nice little Irish bar down one of the side streets of the same road. We would stay here again on our next visit to Southport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing