We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel 24th to 26th July and can only say what a great hotel it was for the price. We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast in a standard room. A large hen party were checking in in front of us and although it took about 20 minutes for us to check in, we can only praise the reception staff for their efficiency. Our room 335 was on the 3rd floor near the lift and the hen party were also in the same area, but once inside our room we didn't hear a thing, the rooms were so well soundproofed. On entering our room, I was amazed at the space we had in comparison to a hotel we recently stayed in London for nearly double the price. The door opened into a hallway with wardrobe, the bathroom faced the door then another door to the left led into the bedroom. The room was well furnished with wardrobe, dressing table with 4 large drawers, desk with 2 drawers and bedside cabinets with shelves and drawers. We also had 2 chairs and small TV although the TV reception wasn't very good. The bed was reasonable comfy but not the best. There was plenty of tea and coffee although it was short of milk, but extra could be ordered through reception. The room furniture is old fashioned but that is what the hotel is all about. The bathroom was large and modern with shower over bath and nice thick towels. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The only complaints were the room was hot on the Saturday there was a wedding party in the ballroom and our room was right over the top, so the music was very loud when we went back to our room at about quarter to one, but it stopped about half an hour later. It would disturb people who like to go to bed early, so it would be worth checking if you need a quiet room. I'd suggest the hotel invest in double glazing since the window frames are ancient and appear to be rotting and air conditioning or ceiling fans.
Now to the restraunt, what do the people who have critised the food normally eat. We enjoyed every morsel we ate. It was traditional English fayre, nothing fancy but that is in keeping with a traditional hotel. On the Friday we didn't have starters or soup so can't comment on that. My partner had ham and I had liver and onions, both perfectly cooked to our taste. There was also a vegetarian choice. The potatoes, chips and veg were cooked to perfection, the cauliflower was a little crisp but that's how we like it. The cheesecake was also very tasty. The staff were very efficient, not on top of us but there when needed to clear the table and serve tea and coffee after the meal. The evening meal on the Saturday was just as good, this time my partner had soup and I had a starter from the salad bar and it was to die for. The breakfast was also very good with cereals, fruit, yogourt, croissants and the traditional english with sausage, bacon, fried and scrambled egg, black pudding, hash browns, beans, mushrooms and tomato, toast and jam, tea, coffee and juice. The only problem was the queues and running out of fried eggs, luckily, I just as happy with scrambled. Outside the hotel is a lovely garden with furniture where you can have afternoon tea and snacks in the sun. The bar is very traditional with a golfing theme. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossyboots48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    393
    350
    234
    317
See reviews for
282
681
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

my initial feeling,on entering the hotel was that it was rather splendid,if a bit out dated.Nice large lounge comfortably equipped,pity about the television,which never seemed to work,leastways during our stay! Moving on to the accomodation,this is now the start of a downhill spiral,the overall decor of the corridors was dismal and tired.Our room situated at the very end of the corridor and adjacent to an outside frie escape was basically equipped,the central heating pipes were still on,and the window could not be opened,because of broken sash cords,or maybe it was because of the view! I have never been to any hotel where the clients were required to put their courtesy tray outaide the door,in the mornings! Now we come to the catering,having been in the catering trade both as a chef and catering manager for over 35 years,I do know my way about kitchens and restaurants.Our first evening meal,having just arrived was chicken,still on the bone,something which I later found out was a steak pudding,and the third choice,for the life of me,I can't remember.The vegetables were ovr cooked peas,and what passed for mashed potatoes,all in all a pretty poor choice,all things considered.The only redeeming feature were the sweets,presumably these were bought in so they would be exempt from the tender mercies of the kitchen staff,Sweets were served with what purported to be single cream.The seating arrangements were somewhat catastrophic,despite the fact that areas were set aside for our tour,actually getting a table was a hit and miss affair.The waitressing staff were none too chuffed at having to reset tables,and items of cutlery,condiments etc were frequently missed from the tables.I sorry to say that the evening meal experience did not get a wole lot better and towards the end we ended up going out for dinner. To carry on to. Breakfasts,now,in all fairness,breakfasts were actuall very good,with a reasonable choice of cereals,fruit juices,compote of fruits,and yoghurts.There was also a nice selection of danish pastries.Again there were adequate supplies of toast,butter and conserves.There was the usual hot food selection that one would expect in any reasonable priced hotel,all in all, breakfast were the best meal of the day.One small issue,do we really need to fry eggs ages before service,and do they need to be fried to death,ie yolks like golf balls.In conclusion this was not the best hotel I have ever stayed in,but I wonder if that is reflected in the overall costs. I would recommend the hotel to a friend on the proviso that they should eat out for their evening meals Southport has a a number of excellent and reasonably priced restaurants

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganymedeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grangemouth Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel on 17th - 20th July with a bus group. This hotel was great. The food was execellent, plenty of variety, both at breakfast and dinner at night. The food was hot, soup was brought to the table by a waiter and breakfast coffee/tea delivered to our table. The service was excellent, and although there were 5 buses in over the weekend + a wedding on the Saturday, the place ran like clockwork. The resturant never appeared too full, we never had to wait for a table. The buffet food came on a regular basis, nothing was too much trouble. The home made apple pie and the lemon meringue pie was to die for. Fantastic.

Our room was huge, loads of furniture including a settee and armchairs, on the top floor (room 328). The room looked as if it had just been refurbished and was spotless with a new carpet and modern bed and bedding. The bathroom was also very modern with an overbath shower valve which gave lots of hot water on demand. - Great.
We have been on losts of different bus trips over the years, and we both agreed that this was the best hotel that we had ever stayed at on a bus trip. Will be go back to this hotel in the future.
Southport is a lovely town, handy for Liverpool and Blackpool, has a pier and lots of entertainment and shops to keep everbody happy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat44007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed for 3 nights from Friday to Monday and had few real complaints. Whilst the hotel is old fashioned and rather dowdy with predictable wallpaper, carpets etc, the location is good (right in the centre of Southport so why TripAdvisor lists it as being in Liverpool is beyond me), the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and a good size and the shower was strong. Breakfast was somewhat chaotic and some of the young waiting staff had no idea what thet were supposed to be doing but the food was OK. I would not want to stay for a week but for 3 nights at a good price it was acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Very disappointed with this hotel. Travelled with a reputable coach tour company. No rooms ready on arrival then we were allocated a room with no window. Moved to a slightly better room which needed refurbished.
Hotel understaffed and unable to cope with several coach companies.
Self service restaurant , difficult for the less mobile people who were seldom offered assistance

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dryburghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour group. Rooms were huge and good sized bathrooms. It was a hot week and there is no air con and rooms were extremely hot with little ventilation, as was the restaurant.

All meals are entirely self service and the same dinner menu is produced every other day which lacked imagination. The food was really hot, as were the plates.

Cleanliness was good and staff were helpful. Situated right in the main shopping street, amazingly it was totally quiet at night, easy reach to the pier and seafront as well as all the shops. Pleasant gardens with many tables and chairs in the shade at the front.

Many buses run nearby and it is easy to get to Liverpool, Preston and the beautiful Botanic Gardens a couple of miles away.

Would highly recommend but perhaps not in the hottest weather months.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Django4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Booked to stay overnight at this hotel, couldnt fault it one bit for location, price and quality of food at breakfast, there was plenty of choice and friendly staff on hand. The only down side I could say was that there was no rose wine by the glass you had to buy the bottle, and there was no diet lemonade!, other than that i would highly recommend this hotel, we paid £56 for 2people b&b for 1 night, 1 word of advise if you do park your car on their car park make sure you pay at reception on check out and not at the machine in the foyer, it charges by the hour, whereas the hotel charge £2 per overnight stay

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing