We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“efficient friendly staff, good food, excelent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 7 February 2011

just returned from 2 night stay , excellent value for money, clean rooms , good food , efficient staff , good all round service

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for your feedback ,It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor ,When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine with our compliments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2011

i recently stayed at the prince of wales with my wife and 2 children,both aged under 10. Upon checkin i was greated with a pleasant and friendly receptionist called Heather, the receptionist checked us in within a couple of minutes and we went to our room. We arrived at our room and were realy happy with the size and location as it was facing the main strip. The hotel was realy busy so as a result myself and family were asked to wait for 10 minutes to be seated at restaurant, we were seated within a couple of minutes and found the duty manager nick a very pleasant ,well mannered young man. After our meal we sat in the bar and had a few soft drinks, cheap prices and good service by the bar staff.The whole weekend was thoroughly enjoyable and my children both loved it even if slightly lacking in entertainment for them,Iam hoping to visit again on valentines day but just with my wife this time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Frank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for your feedback ,It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor ,When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine with our compliments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed at this Hotel friday to sunday ,never again Room allocated double with frosted window overlooking a yard ? complained upgraded to an Executive twin room not bad for price we paid but peeling wallpaper etc we are in 2011 and things have moved on Prince of wales get a grip .will admit excellent staff shame about hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor ,Having checked the room for the over view of the yard and the ripped wallpaper ,unfortunately the window due to being frosted wont let me see the said yard and the walls are all plastered and painted ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

lovely hotel with relaxed atmosphere rooms were very cold ,we very disappointed with evening meal it was tasteless and looked throw together and sorry we never eat somewere else for evening meal this needs to improve . breakfast was nice and lots of it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewsburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor .Its only when issues are raised during there stays that we can improve .Sometimes the rooms may be cold but the radiator thermostats just need to be turned on. There is always a senior member of the team on the restaurant desk who you can speak to regarding your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed for the weekend, had a lovely time, apart from one very rude young lady behind the bar, I believe she is called Emma. I have never heard someone be so rude, bad mannered and unhelpful. The rest of the staff were so nice, and helpful and the food wasn't too bad either!! I would come back again, I just hope that young girl learns some manners.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadwell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Very disappointed that a team member is mentioned in this way im sure if someone offended me in a hotel I would let someone know whilst at the hotel .The girls here are smart well dressed and always willing to help all of the hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Perfect. Great rooms and beds are the most comfortable I have every stayed in. This hotel has character and charm very plush and comfortable - nothing stiff or not functional. Staff are great and helpful. Would stay again and again. The food was very good. Excellent choice and good value for money as i had not booked for dinner and decided to dine in the restaurant and found it to be excellent value at under ten pounds for a three course meal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeroyJenkins777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Stayed at the prince of wales for a dance weekend, each trip gets better every time. Food was great, staff were really helpful i cant believe previous reveiws are about the same hotel. I will definatly be rebooking.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roders87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £30 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing