We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 night stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

In the past been to several Btitannia Hotels and never been disappionted and once again no disappointments at the Prince of Wales.
Checked in mid afternoon and found the radiator only luke warm on our way to dinner we reported the lack of heating to reception. On our return to our room nice and warm and an electric heater running. Following morning at 08-30 am the Maintainace arrived, after about 15mins we were informed that a Plumber had been booked to come and fix the system. We were then given keys to 2 rooms to visit and select an alternative.

All staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
All areas clean and in good order.
Food was very satisfing and hot food was hot.

We look forward to further visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    389
    339
    231
    301
See reviews for
275
660
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Quiet, comfortable room. All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and even as a vegetarian I was catered for. (Not always the case!) Couldn't park the car in the hotel car park on the saturday, but lots of room on sunday. Ideally situated for the shops. We paid £4.60 each for rover tickets and got the train into Liverpool. The tickets can be used on the Mersey Ferry and all buses round town - absolute bargain! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs1954_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback, it is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially when they are an honest account of the hotel and the staff. Thank you again for your great comments regarding the Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Whilst we only stayed one night, this was our third visit and it was very good. Plenty of parking, a fantastic room (123) the kids loved it. We stayed on a DBB basis, that even included a bottle of wine. The staff are always friedly and make you welcome. We are looking forward to our next stay in Southport, hope it will be back at the Prince of Wales.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, General Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback ,It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, especially as the whole family enjoyed their stay ,When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine, and some pop for the children, with our compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We recently booked a short break at the Prince of Wales and found it in desperate need of modernisation. We booked an executive family room and We were given a room on the 3rd floor which we found depressing and cold ,we requested a change of room and were given room 329 as an alternative which was very cold and damp with no central heating in the room in Febuary! There was no alternative room so we got a refund and came home a 200 mile round trip! The hotel is very old, cold and damp smelling rooms, it needs bringing into this century. The car park was ok if you own a very small car otherwise it was a struggle to get into the spaces as they were very tight.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Cornwall, England
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed at the Hotel with my friend and had a lovely big room with a Double & a single bed in it, the Hotel was so warm and welcoming, Very big and old but very well kept up.
The breakfast was always hot and plenty of it and a choice for everyone.
The only down side was the Hotels bar shut up to early, when you had come in for a night cap it was shut: :( .
But would recommend to anyone travelling to Southport to use this Hotel the location is spot on for alsorts. Bars, Shops and a short distance to the coach pick up point.
A Excellent Stay,
Thank you the Prince of Wales.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback, It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor, We do have night porters on who should have been able to provide you with drinks after the bar is closed im sorry if this was not the case, When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine with our compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

just returned from 2 night stay , excellent value for money, clean rooms , good food , efficient staff , good all round service

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback ,It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor ,When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine with our compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

i recently stayed at the prince of wales with my wife and 2 children,both aged under 10. Upon checkin i was greated with a pleasant and friendly receptionist called Heather, the receptionist checked us in within a couple of minutes and we went to our room. We arrived at our room and were realy happy with the size and location as it was facing the main strip. The hotel was realy busy so as a result myself and family were asked to wait for 10 minutes to be seated at restaurant, we were seated within a couple of minutes and found the duty manager nick a very pleasant ,well mannered young man. After our meal we sat in the bar and had a few soft drinks, cheap prices and good service by the bar staff.The whole weekend was thoroughly enjoyable and my children both loved it even if slightly lacking in entertainment for them,Iam hoping to visit again on valentines day but just with my wife this time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Frank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales-pow, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback ,It is always pleasing to read the good comments people put on trip advisor ,When you return to the hotel in the future please let us know that you have put good comments on regarding the Prince of Wales and we will be pleased to give you a bottle of wine with our compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing