We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weve been before and know what to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southport
lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“weve been before and know what to expect”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

we booked a 2 day break for 2 reasons 1 to re charge our batteries and 2 cos it was a cheap deal we asked 4 prom room which was fine v clean bathroom 2 reception staff excellent v helpful especially michelle and pauline they were cheery and informative at dinner in the evening we had a few blips soup was cold sent it back my husband ordered ham 4 main when it came it was pink and disgusting it looked like reconstituted ham he swapped 4 beef which was better at breakfast sausages were cold and of the cheap variety finally weordered poached eggs which werew fresh anthony was a very heipful and charming waiter who changed our food when asked we enjoyed our break in spite of all this cos prior 2 it we had been v stressed

Room Tip: ask 4 prom room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank coronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    548
    328
    156
    117
See reviews for
246
751
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A great hotel lovely views . I love this hotel and keep going back rooms are big and clean. Staff are very helpful carnt do enough. Seating area at front is so comfy, sit and chat with a brew and just take in the views. Meals are perfect buffet style breakfast which is very good. Sunday carvery is top aswel. Hotel just round corner of lord street couldnt be better. Extras swimming pool spa gym hairdressers and more. Please go you will love it. Clkiff in the dining room is brill, such a nice guy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngathearter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Average hotel but in a lovely spot overlooking the sea and the staff were brilliant....1st stop on a two week trip around the north of England so we're hoping things get just a tad better.... I would revisit if I was coming back to Southport

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Third time we've visited this hotel albeit only for three to four day stays.

The rooms are clean and made up very quickly in the morning (a pet bug of mine.) by very friendly staff. Reception staff this year weren't very good. We left without even a "did you enjoy your stay?" whicfh we thought was very poor indeed.
We had a room on,ly stay and the value was good (£71.00 a night.) The breakfast is WAY overpriced and we found it cheaper and nicer to eat in Morrisons 100 yards away.

Evening meals however were excellent even though we chose to eat in Ask one night.

Speaking of which the hotel is ideally placed for the centre of town and for a view of the sea (Even though the sea is about 50 miles away <g>)

Good parking and a good sized lounge with two bars.

We're in our 60's but even we found the clientele a bit old. There seem to be a lot of coach parties aimed at the over 70s.

But all in all we'd go again.

Oh - free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnieitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed at the Royal Clifton, Southport as I was travelling in the area on business. When I arrived I found a parking place at the front, but would imagine that parking maybe cramped during the peak season. The Entrance to the hotel is very grand and there is a large residents area. The check in was fine, and I found my room at the back of the hotel. The veiw from the bedroom window was dreary to say the least, and the room quite bland, but clean. As there was a large party of elderly people staying during my visit I decided against using the hotel restaurant, instead opting for a bar menu which provided a basic selection of main meals. The hotel does have free Wi-Fi but I found this was limited in the content it would allow access to which I found quite frustrating. I enjoyed a good nights sleep and check out was straightfoward. I would stay again but would try to obtain a better room with a view.

Room Tip: Try to get a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in the Royal Great Western last night and the 1st thing I said to my wife when we entered our room was "I'm not feeling the £130 this room cost for the evening". I agree totally with the review left on the 31st July. The hotel is dated and tired. Decoration ,carpets and fabrics are old and musty. The room seemded clean enough but there is not one single thing about this hotel that will tempt you back if you stay there. The breakfast was the most unapplealling sight I've ever seen, it was like a greasy back St cafe. The Conservatory bar isnt a very nice place to relax and when we used the spa it is filled with so many chemicals you feel like your having a bath in bleach. There's thousands of hotel rooms in Southport, believe me you don't want these ones.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titchtearaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have been to the Royal Clifton quite a few times and had a wonderful time, excellent rooms, food, and the staff are superb. We had not been able to go for over 12 months due to ill health, we went 13/09/2011 and the welcome we got was brilliant, as usual the staff could'nt do enough for us and the food was great as was the room, we had a fabulous time and cant wait to revisit. Mr & Mrs Ainsworth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chantilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing