We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on which Room you get !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Depends on which Room you get !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed two nights while attending a conference . first the good points -Location is fine,close to the conference centre and handy for Lord Street and the town centre. Check in was quick and efficient . There is limited free parking within the hotel grounds at front . Bar staff were friendly and quick . The other two couples in our group had nice rooms that had obviously been recently refurbished- one on the ground floor and one on the third floor . Our exoerience wasnt so good and our room ( on the second floor with two windows overlooking the seafront) though spacious and basically clean was definitely due redecorating and updating . Apart from it just having the general feel of being "tired" and needing a coat of paint there was actually peeling wallpaper on the walls and around the windows and holes in the plaster; dark brown water stains along the radiator pipes,no fuse in the heated towel rail switch so it couldnt heat up and a nail sticking into the floor in the bathroom that served as a door stop. All things that could and should have been sorted by routine maintenance. Certainly no comparison to the obviously new bathroom and fittings in our friends rooms and bearing in mind we were all paying the same rate. Previous reviews have commented on the dust and dirt in corners and carpets and we noted those situations still exist. Similarly there were long queues of around 20 people at a time waiting to be seated / allocated a table on both mornings for breakfast because though the staff were friendly and polite, there is little or no organisation to clearing and allocating tables and clearly the room and arrangements are inadequate to cater for the volume of people needing to be served. Staff were so busy clearing and relaying tables on both mornings - food on the buffet such as cereals/fruit / yoghourts etc ran out and werent refilled for long periods thus significantly reducing choice available . I suspect that if you get one of the nice refurnished rooms at this hotel and are up early for breakfast you will probably be satisfied and have a good stay . However unfortunately that wasnt our experience .

Room Tip: Have a look at the room you are being allocated before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SplinkNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    537
    322
    153
    116
See reviews for
242
737
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Every year our family has a 'get together' for a weekend. We chose the Royal Clifton as we fancied something different and we were not disappointed. The hotel was great, the staff helpful and friendly and the dinner (even with no choice of menu) was wonderful. My cousin and I had a sea view in a very clean and spacious room. The rest of the family were satisfied with their accomodation and we all agreed the breakfast was very good. The Murder mystery was great fun, our only complaint was that the dialogue between the actors was sometimes whilst we were eating which distracted us somewhat and we think led to us not solving the crime!! All in all we would recommend the hotel and the 'show'.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have better views but more traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Arrived at royal Clifton at 2pm was seen to promptly at reception and received good level of service from a very polite lady however that's where the positives end. We had upgraded to a promenade room which was not very spacious, the bed was very hard and the room was very dated. The windows were large and had a nice view but were so dirty we could barely see out of them also the window wouldn't close properly and there was a gentle breeze blowing in. Was woke in the night by the people in the room Above walking about for a good half hour on the squeakiest floor boards I have ever heard what they were doing just walking about for half an hour I'm not sure. We were then woken up at 7.15 by the people in the room next door speaking very loudly. Overall the hotel was a bit dussapointing and not the relaxing night away we had hoped for but it wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelady83uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights 13-15 September. Our room (247) was a lovely size with two big windows overlooking the promenade and across the bay to Blackpool, the Tower being quite visible. Evening meal was good, however, it was the same choice menu throughout our stay. The waiters/waitresses were very accommodating, especially Anthony. Breakfast was buffet style and adequate, however, it lacked the lovely smoked haddock and poached egg, that we both enjoy. The size of the restaurant was limited due to two coach parties being present and queues were likely while tables were cleared. The hotel was reasonably clean, however, dusters and vacuums didn't seem to reach into corners, particularly in the lifts and chair staves in the lounge area. The swimming pool and changing area were excellent. The TV was small and outdated with limited channels and the mattress on the bed was very hard/ firm. Notwithstanding the above negatives, we would use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for promenade view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffordshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Great location, great golf courses within 10 minutes including Hillside, Birkdale, S&A - comfortable, clean, great reception team, breakfast service the Achilles heel of the whole operation but food excellent. Plenty of great pubs and restaurants just a short stroll away. Swimming pool and gym on site. We will be back. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThewalkersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

From the outside, this is a beautiful hotel. Inside it is very dated. Stayed here for 4 night in August 2011 during a golfing holiday. Large hotel with wedding that dominated the lounge bar. Telephones did not work in rooms. Public computers/interest in lobby was "down" and management in no hurry to get working. The positives were than the rooms were decent.
Breakfast is another story. This is a large hotel with a buffet breakfast. The dining room/breakfast area is a decent size, but too small for the number of rooms. Regarding the buffest breakfast. The plates were HOT, so hot that they provided napkins to use while holding your plate to serve. It gets worse. It was very difficult to navigate the hot breakfast bar. The heat lamps were hot, but whats worse is that many of the serving utensils (large spoons, spatulas, etc) had no handles. Metal utensils in hot food equals very hot handles. I actually saw a guest burn his hand. This hotel could go to a local kitchen store and buy some new serving utensils with rubber handles or handles that did not conduct heat and would make a lot of difference. They use also buy a new serving station as their current is too small, too difficult to navigage, and in general just WAY TOO Hot. I am sure the guy I saw burn his hand was not the first. They should address this issue IMMEDIATELY. Overall this hotel was decent, but breakfast was not fun navigating the hot everything.

BONUS: This hotel is walking distance from Maloney's Pub, which is one of England's top pubs for flair. Worth checking out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

we booked a 2 day break for 2 reasons 1 to re charge our batteries and 2 cos it was a cheap deal we asked 4 prom room which was fine v clean bathroom 2 reception staff excellent v helpful especially michelle and pauline they were cheery and informative at dinner in the evening we had a few blips soup was cold sent it back my husband ordered ham 4 main when it came it was pink and disgusting it looked like reconstituted ham he swapped 4 beef which was better at breakfast sausages were cold and of the cheap variety finally weordered poached eggs which werew fresh anthony was a very heipful and charming waiter who changed our food when asked we enjoyed our break in spite of all this cos prior 2 it we had been v stressed

Room Tip: ask 4 prom room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank coronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing