We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I'd have stayed for longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Southport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish I'd have stayed for longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with the family on Saturday night. And found it to be a pleasure to stay here. I have been to southport many times and didn't know this was here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking was great which they extended for me whilst I explored southport after we checked out. Room we had was amazing just a shame the jacuzzi didn't work. I am the night manager for the Liner hotel and I'm seriously thinking of applying for a job here. :).

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful, the Jacuzzi has now been repaired and hopefully you can come and sample it again very soon!

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    538
    322
    153
    116
See reviews for
242
738
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here with my other half for just one night. The staff are a credit to the hotel.The facilities are excellent..We did not eat there but the drinks were good..The rooms very warm and the linen / towels excellent. The bed however was ROCK HARD..Like most hotels of this rating the rooms are very tired with a Peach Bathroom. However this did not put us off at all. I would stay again in a sea view room but ask for a softer bed.
Great for one night and would recommend if you dont mind my comments.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triedhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff and facilities to be excellent, I was sorry to read that you found the bed uncomfortable we do have some firm mattress’ which some of guests prefer and would have been more than happy to change this for you, I am pleased that it has not put you off visiting us again and hopefully during your next visit you will be able to sample the fabulous menus that we have available in both the Pavilion Restaurant and Conservatory Bar.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Found this hotel in December 2002 and have never stopped going back. The location is convienant for walking/town centre/golf perfect old type hotel with added bonus of all modern facilities, including swimming pool/Gym/Hairdresses.
Staff excellent in all areas very friendly and welcoming that's why we go three times a year it's like visiting family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for recent review of the Royal Clifton, I was delighted to read your comments regarding our facilities and staff, it certainly is a great place to stay with fabulous facilities and it is wonderful that you keep coming back to us, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Most impressed by Jenny&Michelle on reception. The food was very good dinner exellent value. Room was. comfortable.will come again.free.parking a bonus.whilst there was 3functionat the hotel at weekend the staff were able to cope even with an ambulance call on Sunday night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I was so pleased that you managed to sample the fabulous food available in the Pavilion Restaurant, we have recently introduced a new A La Carte menu which is proving to be very popular. I will certainly pass your compliments on to Jenny and Michelle who are always very helpful and hospitable. Hopefully you will come back and visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This Victorian hotel has many of its original features which add to its charm, cannot comment on its rooms as I have not stayed overnight. Location good. The staff on main reception are friendly and helpful. Its gym though small, is very good and has a great swimming pool and jacuzzi. Does lovely afternoon teas if one can be served.
On Sept 29th 2012 we had been to the gym and then asked for tea and sandwiches. The waitress took my order and money, even asked me which I'd prefer - brown bread or white. Then 5 minutes later came back and refunded my money saying they did not do tea and sandwiches. This was at 13.08. No explanation or alternative was offered. About 5 minutes later a plate of sandwiches was passed to the staff in main reception, needless to say we were gobsmacked !! I asked a young waiter who was passing through the reception if sandwiches were being sand assured me they were.
I wrote to the manager complaining about this incident but did not get a reply. I still have the receipts. We were starving that day after doing a long workout in the gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton, I am so pleased that you find the hotel full of charm with its original Victorian features, I do hope that one day you are able to come and stay overnight to not only sample one of our Promenade rooms with extensive views over the coast line but also our fabulous all you can eat buffet breakfast. I am very sorry about the unfortunate incident regarding your afternoon tea please do send me a private message so I am able to offer further feedback on this, I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I arrived into southport with all guns blazing ready for a night on the tiles, my brothel creepers were polished and a spare set of drinking boots in the boot. Arrived at the royal clifton, as ever my gentleman instincts kicked in as I helped a man not a day over 96 up off the floor, as he'd had his "fill" in the conservatory bar. Checked in, staff were wonderful, helpful, obliging, I surveyed my surroundings, yes it was your typical once royal seaside retreat when British folk treated the likes of southport, Scarborough, Llandudno with the respect that these joyous Victorian built resorts required. Room, was dated but pleasant with a sea view, which seeing the sea in southport is the equivalent of seeing elvis, lord Lucan etc etc. gym facilities were also dated but yet again, the main and most important matter was, the staff were polite, happy and a joy to speak to. They say you can't polish a turd, this may be so but sometimes you have to take the aesthetics, age and surroundings out of the equation and look a little deeper into hat matters most in an experience, manners, happiness and a sense of being welcomed nd being at ease. Thank you to all staff that made this a joyous one night stay and put the faith back into the belief, if this country has the weather, there is no place in the world you'd rather be. Only one complaint, which is only fair, got stuck in the hotel lift for 7 hours and never slept in my bed. Apart from that, a lovely time. Thank you.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the Royal Clifton is indeed a Victorian building full of character and charm, we are currently refurbishing our rooms and our public areas and restaurant have been refurbished very recently in keeping with this historic building. It was very pleasing to read that you found the staff welcoming, I was a little concerned regarding your comments about the lift as there was no reports of the lift breaking down on this particular day so I would welcome some feedback and further detail on this. I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed one night after a wedding. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but dated. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was in a small dining room with a limited choice of food, but the cooked breakfast buffet was very good. We were disappointed that the children were unable to use the pool as it was being used for lessons, which we weren't informed about in advance. Good value for money at £45 room only, but I wouldn't want to pay much more. Breakfast at £7:50 a bit steep. Good location, right on the promenade with plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Sea views are good. We were in room 2 which was right by the stairs, so quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton, I am very sorry that you were not able to use the pool in the morning due to swimming lessons, we would have been more than happy to store your luggage for you to use the facilities at lunch time and we have a fabulous family room in the leisure club where you can also freshen up before your journey home. I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding breakfast, we do have an extensive breakfast menu available with over 10 items on the hot buffet, however I would be delighted if you could offer further feedback so we can maybe look at adding some more items. Once again thank you for your review and I do hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing