We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel; wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Onchan, Isle Of Man
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel; wonderful staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break at the Royal Clifton. I was a little put off by some of the negative reviews however I was very pleasantly surprised. We booked 3 rooms and, yes, the rooms and the upstairs corridors are a little tired but they were clean and comfortable and all the beds with new mattresses. 2 out of the 3 bathrooms could do with updating but they were squeaky clean and functional and we had everything we needed so no complaints. We had rooms at the front as we’d heard that the one’s at the back can be noisy from the street behind. The front rooms have great views over the marine lake. The public areas are well kept and there is plenty of seating. The bar is a good venue and there’s the choice of seating in the airy conservatory, the bar itself or the lounge. We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights which was good value and good quality food. We also had the bar menu on one night which was good also.
Breakfast was fine. Not a lot of choice but it was more than adequate. We were celebrating my mum’s 80th birthday and the staff couldn’t do enough to make it a great occasion. They even organised a birthday cake which was lovely. Mum and my aunt had some treatments in the beauty salon which they both enjoyed and which were not overly expensive.
This is a charming hotel with lots of character and wonderful staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 217 which isn't far from the lift. Its a twin room with no one above. Modernised bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEllie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    575
    355
    174
    138
See reviews for
261
811
50
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent two nights in this glorious brilliant old Victorian Hotel, with many very modern conveniences. Terrific sports facilities, The staff were very helpful in the old manner and tradition, politeness and friendliness. The Breakfast wonderful. The room had all the facilities and of a very high standard, must ask for a sea view well worth it.

The view was over the Gardens of Southport with holiday facilities, shops and everything you wanted. within walking distance, I did not move my car whilst staying.

I am going to make it an annual event as I have to attend a function in Southport, for me it must be the Royal Clifton.

Room Tip: Just ask for one facing the Gardens if possible, also if you are not satisfied just ask and the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixopeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Initially I visted trip advisor to see the comments , which made me a little nerveous, however called the hotel & spoke to Michelle on Reception, who answered and over came my concerns, so we booked... on arrival we were checked in by Clifford, who really made us feel welcome/special.Would recomend up garding to sea view rooms(Room 120)...you can see for miles
The room and bathroom were good and nothing like what some people had written(some people are never happy), it was clean & believe me my wife is really focused on that aspect, the bed was comfy and the linen excellent
The staff at this establishment are second to none and nothing is too much trouble; I can only give one slight negative, they are upgrading to flat screen tvs , however the signal is not good , but who wants to sit in the room watching Tv....not us
We had a brillaint stay and will be staying again in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I liked the hotel and the staff were always extremely helpful. What I found disappointing was the standard of the breakfast. Normally, we stay in B&Bs and I was keen to find out what a quality chain like Best Western, whch charges around 50% more than the B&Bs we stay in, offered. Breakfast can be summarised as follows: there was a fresh fruit option, but it consisted only of half a dozen slices of melon, so you had to be down early to get that. Second day of breakfast there was no fresh fruit. I had porridge on two days. On both occasions, this was the lumpiest porridge I've ever experienced. There were piles of tinned grapefruit and prunes, with the juices drained to the bottom. On the fried side we could help ourselves to rubbery fried egg (bad news if you like a runny yolk), tinned mushrooms floating in an unappetising buttery/greasy water mess, tinned tomatoes and other items which had been in the trays for some time. I have had better breakfasts in youth hostels.

It was a shame because otherwise the hotel was fine, although I do not understand why they do not offer digital radio or freeview services on their TV system.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed here on 12th July for 1 night 2 adults £49. Bargain so upgraded to gorgeous front view room for just £10 extra arrived at 11am and was given the room immediately instead of waiting till 2pm (proper check in time)receptionist very friendly location was ideal comfy bed only moan was window only opened about 8inches on the weekend which was touching 80 degrees but other than that I will be using this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Royal Clifton southport
Booked a superior room with sea view, the bedroom and bathroom very modern and clean, the only let down was the sea view, if you sat in the chairs provided you looked at the radiator and wall, to get the sea view you had to stand to look out of the window,not so good if you are small and infirm. the lift to the rooms is a long way from reception. thats the down side for us two oldies.
hotel staff very friendly and courtious. food./wines./beers excellent. slight problem with parking owing to two wedding parties. will definitely stay again but will check which room we book into.not not not room 349

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is an old fashioned seaside hotel and although some of the bedrooms have been updated,as has the bar and restaurant,the rest of the public rooms and bedrooms need some money spending on them. Having said that the staff were very pleasant and courteous,the rooms very clean and the food was excellent. We stayed as a golfing group of 8 and the value for money was terrific. great spa too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popesterNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing