We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Lancashire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked an overnight stay after attending a wedding reception at the hotel.
The service at the wedding reception was amazing great staff and great food. The bar staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
Our double room however was a different story. The room we were allocated looked out over a brick wall and some sort of generator made it hard to hear yourself think. The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and moved us to another room.Whilst were were grateful to be away from the noise the room was disappointing. The room was clean but the carpets were badly stained and the wall paper was hanging off the wall in several places. Furniture was not not good and all in all in much need of some updating.
Breakfast was plentiful and the buffet style allows you to have whatever you want.Again service from staff was good but the room was somewhat dark and in need of some modernisation.
If you're thinking of booking a wedding at this hotel go for it the standard and the service is excellent if you want somewhere nice to stay after the wedding look at other hotels as sadly the rooms do not match the otherwise brilliant service care and attention we experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding reception you attended. I was very disappointed to read the problems that you encountered with your room and I can assure you that these have been addressed with our housekeeping and maintenance team. We do offer some fabulous accommodation with rooms to suit all budgets, from standard double rooms to Promenade facing Suites so I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back so you are able to sample one of these, once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    528
    311
    146
    112
See reviews for
239
714
46
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during the recent hot spell and it was A very pleasant place to be. The room was clean and well decorated, bathroom was modern and clean. Towels changed daily and toiletries stocked up.
The pool and spa was a godsend because it it was great to cool off for an hour or two in the afternoon (did not think I'd be saying that for a uk hol)
Can't comment on the food, didn't eat here.
All in all this is a nice place to stay, nice ambience, friendly and cheerful staff and nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno2956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel would appeal to all ages, the spa facilities were excellent and something to do on a rainy day, we ate in the restaraunt and it was excellent food and service, reception staff very pleasant, rooms were very good although the beds were hard. One of our tooms was for a disabled person and that was excellent. We were impressed and will stay for longer next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, booked promenade room , good size but bit dated, the bed was very lumpy but clean, it was very hot but the window would only open about a foot , could not get fresh air in, the breakfast was good value, and the staff were very friendly, they need to clean up the conservatory the tables were dirty, we would not eat of them, the hotel is in a great location and quite at night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break at the Royal Clifton. I was a little put off by some of the negative reviews however I was very pleasantly surprised. We booked 3 rooms and, yes, the rooms and the upstairs corridors are a little tired but they were clean and comfortable and all the beds with new mattresses. 2 out of the 3 bathrooms could do with updating but they were squeaky clean and functional and we had everything we needed so no complaints. We had rooms at the front as we’d heard that the one’s at the back can be noisy from the street behind. The front rooms have great views over the marine lake. The public areas are well kept and there is plenty of seating. The bar is a good venue and there’s the choice of seating in the airy conservatory, the bar itself or the lounge. We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights which was good value and good quality food. We also had the bar menu on one night which was good also.
Breakfast was fine. Not a lot of choice but it was more than adequate. We were celebrating my mum’s 80th birthday and the staff couldn’t do enough to make it a great occasion. They even organised a birthday cake which was lovely. Mum and my aunt had some treatments in the beauty salon which they both enjoyed and which were not overly expensive.
This is a charming hotel with lots of character and wonderful staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 217 which isn't far from the lift. Its a twin room with no one above. Modernised bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEllie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent two nights in this glorious brilliant old Victorian Hotel, with many very modern conveniences. Terrific sports facilities, The staff were very helpful in the old manner and tradition, politeness and friendliness. The Breakfast wonderful. The room had all the facilities and of a very high standard, must ask for a sea view well worth it.

The view was over the Gardens of Southport with holiday facilities, shops and everything you wanted. within walking distance, I did not move my car whilst staying.

I am going to make it an annual event as I have to attend a function in Southport, for me it must be the Royal Clifton.

Room Tip: Just ask for one facing the Gardens if possible, also if you are not satisfied just ask and the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixopeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Initially I visted trip advisor to see the comments , which made me a little nerveous, however called the hotel & spoke to Michelle on Reception, who answered and over came my concerns, so we booked... on arrival we were checked in by Clifford, who really made us feel welcome/special.Would recomend up garding to sea view rooms(Room 120)...you can see for miles
The room and bathroom were good and nothing like what some people had written(some people are never happy), it was clean & believe me my wife is really focused on that aspect, the bed was comfy and the linen excellent
The staff at this establishment are second to none and nothing is too much trouble; I can only give one slight negative, they are upgrading to flat screen tvs , however the signal is not good , but who wants to sit in the room watching Tv....not us
We had a brillaint stay and will be staying again in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing