We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My Stay Was Lovley The salon Was Amazing Treated You Like A Royal But It Was Cold The Hotel Was Clean,lovely Breakfast Could Of Been warmer The facilities Were Fab Great for All Ages Overall Had A really Nice time and Great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon 0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had our wedding here on 30th nov 2013, all the staff throughout the whole day were on hand at all times & the day went without a hitch. We had the Balmoral suite which is nice & big with its own bar & outside area. Kelly & Sharon the event staff did all they could to make us feel at ease & help us plan our big day. Our bridal suite had a lovely poster bed & big spacious room. The food was fantastic, everyone loved it & there was plenty of it!! Overall I can't recommend this hotel more for your wedding. We had the most amazing day. A big thankyou to all involved :-))

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a great stay in a newly refurbished room on the third floor. Food was most enjoyable and the staff could not do enough to ensure we had a great stay. The hotel was very busy but this did not detract from our stay.

Top tip take advantage of the lazy Sunday offer which includes a late check out and a three course carvery lunch for £15 per head.

We will return.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have been refurbished and being on the third floor you are away from any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel before but this time we stayed for 3 nights. Its a very large hotel and in need of some decoration, but this does not detract from the atmosphere and the extremely helpful staff. We had a sea view room and I would recommend paying the extra that is required. Our room had been updated and was very comfortable with great bathroom. Our friends had a smaller rear room which could have done with redecorating but nevertheless was clean and functional. Breakfast was buffet style but this time there seemed to be a better turn over of food and it wasn't left for quite as long. Also, fresh eggs were brought when requested. Finally comments last time re coffee seemed to have been heard and great flavour coffee so, management, thank you for taking the time to read Trip Advisor and act upon the comments. See you next year!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our room was on the 3rd floor next to the lift and what we think was the central heating boiler. The room was roasting and had a dangerously low ceiling (thank god we're not tall) . The floors creaked, the bed was hard and made strange noises and throughout the night we endured the noise from either the lift or boiler! So we didn't get much sleep! The shower head was broken and sprayed water everywhere apart from where it should go! We asked for an iron to be brought up to us but it never appeared so we had to leave without ironing a shirt ( we were at a funeral), but on our return guess what was outside our room door? Yup the iron! Not the best hotel experience we've ever had!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Started out ok but then the sound from the central heating system changed somewhat to one that was very loud, annoying and constantly irritating.
Got little if any sleep because of it.
Nothing could entice us to return to this hotel and endure something which resembles a high speed, non-stop tapping noise inside your head.
There was no escape from it.
Could hear it in the room, the corridors, by the public internet connection etc.
Avoid this hotel if you value your sanity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed in October this year. Our room was very spacious and even though the décor was a little tired, it was very clean and comfortable. We booked a sea view room for just a few pounds more and it was well worth it. We had a couple of bright sunny days and the view of the Marine Lake, the beach and across to Blackpool were amazing. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and well organised. The Staff were very polite and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel has lots of facilities, unfortunately our stay wasn't long enough to take advantage of them but we will definitely return. We can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £31 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing