We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a great weekend at the Royal Clifton with my good friend Pat. The weather could have been better but the quality of the hotel stay was excellent. Large clean well maintained room, lovely leisure centre & fabulous food

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    573
    355
    174
    136
See reviews for
261
808
49
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milford haven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Overpriced for a poor quality experience. The noise in the corridors was excessive at night and the quality of breakfast was dreadful. Due to popularity of resort it is obvious the hotel does not need to keep high standards. Suggest using another hotel if you go to southport

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you feel that our standards are not high. I can assure you that we do have many compliments regarding the team at the Royal Clifton who strive to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. I would be very happy to hear any further comments that you would like to share with me regarding your visit if you would like to email me andreab@royalclifton.co.uk I would be more than happy to discuss this further.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbrook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I thought Best Western was a sign of a certain level of quality well this place proved me wrong. Was going to eat elsewhere but Southport was pretty much shut down for winter so decided to eat at the bar only to find a cockroach wandering along the bar top, The lad behind the bar assured me it wasn't a food prep area but there was a fridge full of deserts at the end of the bar!!! So retreated to Weatherspoon's for some better quality cuisine.

There also seem to be a problem with a very noisy 1st floor corridor, not sure why but squeak horrendously every time someone walked past.

What was it with Christmas deccies up in mid January! Apparently late Christmas parties but didn't seem right to me

Shame look like a quality hotel from the outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the Royal Clifton Hotel I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy you stay with us, I can assure you that I have investigated your comments regarding the insect in the bar, we do not usually experience problems of this nature but I can assure you that as a precautionary measure the area has been treated. I am sorry that you did not appreciate the Christmas Decorations in January, we leave them up as we have many Emergency Services Party nights throughout January as they struggle to find time to have them in December so as a token of our appreciation for all they do for us the least we can do is ensure it is as festive as possible. Once again thank you for your comments.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The views from the promenade rooms are great, the location for all the resort activities is superb. For the Flower Show, the Firework Championships or the Air Show it is the best location you could want. It is a gentle stroll down the lovely promenade to the pier, it is a few hundred yards to Lord Street shopping. But the rooms very and can be a little less than modern and the food can be average. They have wifi in the rooms and the building is warm and comfortable for an afternoon tea or reading the paper in the lounge and there is a small spa with hairdresser, gym and small pool. We have managed to get some amazing room rates with them so the fact that the rooms were a little dated did not bother us at all. The location makes up for almost everything,

Room Tip: it is worth paying for the rooms with a view in my opinion.... but negotiate on your rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angulimala28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is certainly in a fabulous location and as you say with some wonderful views of the coast, I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have just returned from our 2night stay 5-7th
And wanted to leave a review
We had a great time the bedroom was super we stayed in 246 which was very quite and the view was excellent the room was worm and cosy and very clean
The breakfast is to die for amazing help yourself buffet the sausage is lovely all of it was
Then the main meal we had them both days in the restaurant
My partner had the burger both times it was that good I had chicken and roast dinner the next day both cooked beautifully
Well done chef :)
The staff at the clifton where all great and the overall hotel we found was great the bar needs the pool table back
This was the 5th visit and still I don't get board of coming here it's in a great location and we will be returning in the summer might bring the kids this time
Our only falt was the pool tables gone :)
So keep up the good work guys and c u in the summer x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Right on the seafront with good parking facilities and good food and bars. Really friendly staff, again a bit dated but most of the hotels in Southport are that way but again the value for money was excellent and I would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar and to a decent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I booked this break for 3 couples in July 2013 and requested the rooms to be on the same level and next to each other. When we arrived at the hotel on the 31st December 2 rooms were together and the other couple were through a double swing door and down stairs to the left which was not acceptable. I enquired with the reception staff and basically they said it was the reservations team who allocate the rooms but I stated to them that the booking was made the previous July and there should have been no problem with the request. They offered a room but was further away which we declined. I made an official complaint via email on the 31st December and phoned the hotel on January 6th and had to point out I had sent the email which they opened straight away. The response from the general manager was totally unacceptable stating that it was an old building and sometimes it is difficult to meet guests requests but we found out later at our stay that there were double rooms across from our rooms. I stated that we should have notified that they couldn't match our room requirements but that fell on deaf ears with them. The function on New Year's Eve was ordinary with the table service poor and the meal pretty heavy and little things like party hats, balloons, party poppers were missing which all make towards a party atmosphere. Entertainment was poor with a man as a Roy Orbison and Elvis Pressley lookalikes and then a break for 30 minutes of nothing but background music and the function room sound system was very poor and if you were sitting at the back of the hall where we were you struggled to hear. The response from the Amanda Burton the general manager was disgraceful and she hoped that it wouldn't stop the group from returning to the hotel. If the complaint had have been handled in a more professional manner then a return visit might have been possible but we will not be returning to the hotel based on the visit at New Year. We have now attended New Year's events for 10 years at different hotels as a group and would rate this one the worst one yet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton Hotel, as I mentioned in my reply to you the rooms were close together unfortunately we were not able to get rooms next door to each other, however they were on the same floor within 15m of each other. I also explained that the property is A Victorian property and that we have seven different room types and I hope you understand that to get three rooms of the same room type next door to each other is not possible. I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding the New Year event that you attended in the Windsor Suite we have received many compliments regarding the food and entertainment and certainly the confetti cannons that we let off at midnight I am sorry that this was not to your satisfaction.
I am sorry that you feel you are not able to return to the hotel hopefully you may re consider in the future, I would like to thank you for your comments and constructive feedback.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing