We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Arguably the noisiest hotel in the world. The floorboards throughout the hotel are an absolute joke. I really can't express how noisy they are.

It's an extremely old fashioned and dated hotel, however it is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

For the pirce, it's reasonable, just don't expect a good night's sleep.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank andyw785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton Hotel. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed I can assure you that if the staff were made aware of this they would have moved you immediately. The hotel does date back to 1800 and is full of character and the odd squeaky floor board and I am very sorry if this kept you awake. I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and I will pass on your compliments to them. Once again thank you for your comments.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    536
    321
    151
    116
See reviews for
242
734
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

just used our Tesco coupons on a three night stay at this hotel. the first night we were very hot, and the tv in our room wasn't the best. we mentioned this at reception and they immediately offered to changed our room. nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. we found it to be warm ,clean, good food, lovely pool etc area. we certainly wound stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank odo238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that reception ensured that you stay was as comfortable as possible and I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team, we hope to see you again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a great weekend at the Royal Clifton with my good friend Pat. The weather could have been better but the quality of the hotel stay was excellent. Large clean well maintained room, lovely leisure centre & fabulous food

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milford haven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Overpriced for a poor quality experience. The noise in the corridors was excessive at night and the quality of breakfast was dreadful. Due to popularity of resort it is obvious the hotel does not need to keep high standards. Suggest using another hotel if you go to southport

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you feel that our standards are not high. I can assure you that we do have many compliments regarding the team at the Royal Clifton who strive to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us. I would be very happy to hear any further comments that you would like to share with me regarding your visit if you would like to email me andreab@royalclifton.co.uk I would be more than happy to discuss this further.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Holbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I thought Best Western was a sign of a certain level of quality well this place proved me wrong. Was going to eat elsewhere but Southport was pretty much shut down for winter so decided to eat at the bar only to find a cockroach wandering along the bar top, The lad behind the bar assured me it wasn't a food prep area but there was a fridge full of deserts at the end of the bar!!! So retreated to Weatherspoon's for some better quality cuisine.

There also seem to be a problem with a very noisy 1st floor corridor, not sure why but squeak horrendously every time someone walked past.

What was it with Christmas deccies up in mid January! Apparently late Christmas parties but didn't seem right to me

Shame look like a quality hotel from the outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the Royal Clifton Hotel I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy you stay with us, I can assure you that I have investigated your comments regarding the insect in the bar, we do not usually experience problems of this nature but I can assure you that as a precautionary measure the area has been treated. I am sorry that you did not appreciate the Christmas Decorations in January, we leave them up as we have many Emergency Services Party nights throughout January as they struggle to find time to have them in December so as a token of our appreciation for all they do for us the least we can do is ensure it is as festive as possible. Once again thank you for your comments.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The views from the promenade rooms are great, the location for all the resort activities is superb. For the Flower Show, the Firework Championships or the Air Show it is the best location you could want. It is a gentle stroll down the lovely promenade to the pier, it is a few hundred yards to Lord Street shopping. But the rooms very and can be a little less than modern and the food can be average. They have wifi in the rooms and the building is warm and comfortable for an afternoon tea or reading the paper in the lounge and there is a small spa with hairdresser, gym and small pool. We have managed to get some amazing room rates with them so the fact that the rooms were a little dated did not bother us at all. The location makes up for almost everything,

Room Tip: it is worth paying for the rooms with a view in my opinion.... but negotiate on your rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angulimala28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is certainly in a fabulous location and as you say with some wonderful views of the coast, I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have just returned from our 2night stay 5-7th
And wanted to leave a review
We had a great time the bedroom was super we stayed in 246 which was very quite and the view was excellent the room was worm and cosy and very clean
The breakfast is to die for amazing help yourself buffet the sausage is lovely all of it was
Then the main meal we had them both days in the restaurant
My partner had the burger both times it was that good I had chicken and roast dinner the next day both cooked beautifully
Well done chef :)
The staff at the clifton where all great and the overall hotel we found was great the bar needs the pool table back
This was the 5th visit and still I don't get board of coming here it's in a great location and we will be returning in the summer might bring the kids this time
Our only falt was the pool tables gone :)
So keep up the good work guys and c u in the summer x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing