We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here during February 2014 for two nights. The rooms are well equipped, if a little tired in parts. The food was excellent (breakfast and dinner) and the staff were friendly and all too willing to help and give advice. The location is ideal - centrally placed, facing the promenade and gardens, with ample free car parking. There is a good selection of facilities available, including a swimming pool and fitness gym. Other rooms can be hired for various functions, including business meetings and dancing/receptions. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton, I was delighted t read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that you found time to use our extensive leisure facilities. The hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade and within walking distance to the shops on Lord Street, it is also a great base for the new Kings Gardens located across the road from the hotel with many attractions and a fabulous children's play area, I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    526
    311
    146
    112
See reviews for
239
712
46
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tibshelf, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very happy with this hotel, service and staff first class. Some parts of the hotel are tired, we had a lovely room even if the bathroom is in need of mofernisation and one of the beds was a bit lumpy. I could nit-pick about the breakfast being only 7 out of 10, but these are minor things. I'd recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have made a note about the bed being uncomfortable and we always welcome comments from our guests this helps us to constantly improve on our standards and service, thank you once again and hope to see you back very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dormer St Margarets lodge from Salford had their weekend away at the Royal Clifton this being their 5th time and can i say that the standard was very good everyone was delighted with their rooms and the food was great all this was due to the staff from start to finish Joleen who was our first point of contact with Kelly who organized the rooms and events this review would not be complete without a mention of Cliford who without our ladies evening would not have been so smoothy run he also looked after one of our group who had had a fall during the day and was not able to attend the meal he made sure he got medical care and also food sent up to his room Cliford may we thank you for going that extra mile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyndil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton and I will certainly pass on your compliments to Clifford. It was an absolute pleasure having you all with us and we hope that you will be returning again next year.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Disappointed after visiting this hotel a few years ago, The service was only just ok and after having to queue for breakfast we decided to leave and went to morrisons along the road where the service was a lot quicker and nicer staff!! The room was ok and found dead wasps still squashed and stuck to the inside of the windows!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review, I was very disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with your stay, I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team and can assure you that this is an isolated incident as our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and checked before they are passed over to reception for guests to check in I am sorry that on this occasion we felt short of our usual high standards. Breakfast is always a very busy time in the hotel and as we do not take table reservations for breakfast it can be difficult to predict the busy times however we only anticipate a short wait for our guests and I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to sample our buffet breakfast. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future..

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

not enough food at breakfast due to a coach party coming in the night before. This made it very stressful for the waitresses on duty who were doing their best due to the volume of customers. The dining room should have closed at 9.15am but customers were still waiting at 10am because there was not enough food out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 10pauliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am so sorry that you had to wait for your breakfast, this is always a busy time of the day and we like to serve the food as fresh as we possibly can so it is not On the buffet for too long, we were aware of the coach party and the other residents in house however I am sorry that you had to wait for the food to be freshly cooked and I do hope that you enjoyed it and you will hopefully come and visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently got married and had both our ceremony and wedding reception at the Royal Clifton. We had a fantastic day and we were looked after by Clifford and the team. Our heartfelt thanks go to Clifford who from the moment I arrived on the day before my wedding looked after me and my bridal party.

We had many guests attending from Ireland who were very impressed with the hotel and its facilities.
The food was of a very high standard and many guests commented on this. The accomodation is also of a very high standard with many rooms overlooking the lake and gardens over the road.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of either staying or having their wedding there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your special day, I will certainly pass on your compliments to Clifford, I was very pleased to read that your guests also enjoyed their stay and the facilities that hotel has to offer, I do hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing