We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Talbot Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosedale Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,841 results
Traveller rating
425
625
404
219
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
625
404
219
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservatory barpromenade viewfront facingspa facilitiessuperior roomsteam roomevening mealbit datedbreakfast was buffet stylelarge roomwedding receptionshort breaksea frontself servicenight breakfull englishlord street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,268 - 1,273 of 1,841 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked into the hotel for one night with my partner as a birthday treat. Love shopping and eating in Southport. We booked in and were given room 249. Which was along an corridor on multiple levels, to a lift. Up to the second floor and exit to to multiple doors and corridors modelled on Stalag 17. The room was tired and depressing, but clean. Me and my partner decided we wouldn't stay. We went to reception who offered us an upgrade for £20. These were on the third floor. Much nicer room, although no mattress cover. I would stay again but only on floor three. Did seem odd that at forty something's we were out of place, everyone was under 10 or over 70. Didn't dine or have breakfast so can't help you there I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here a couple of times. Friendly atmosphere and great rooms.
The hotel is quite old but very nice.
I did intend using the gym facilities but on viewing the gym I decided against. Very limited and the equipment wasn't in the best of condition.
There are a couple of places to eat in the hotel, the restaurant or the bar. Both are nice but the restaurant is the best for a nice evening meal.
Rooms were spacious and clean and the beds comfortable.
Situated on the prom and a short walk around the corner on to Lord Street were there are lots of shops, cafe's, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: A room facing the prom is a must. The hotel is very big so if you don't want a stroll to your room, ask for a room closer to reception, even if it is first or second floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Looks like a fashionable hotel but is like many English hotels not of great standards. For 85 pound they gave me and my wife a double room. We were just dropping by. Very nice staff. Nice area. Ok breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding so didn't actually choose the hotel as it was where the venue was, hotel staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble, tried to check in at 10'ish but as expected room was not ready. Went up to another room my sister was in and found it quite small and tired looking, view was of a brick wall!! We got our room about 12 and was quite aprehensive as to what we would find. We were pleasently surprised as it seems we were upgraded to a much larger room. A nice king sized bed with another room off that with a single in. and then a massive bath room with bath/shower! to top it off we had a sea view! not much of the sea to see but it was still there.
The food at the wedding was gorgeous, can't fault it and breakfast was probably the best breakfast i have had in a hotel.
Overall can't fault it. car parking is a bit hit and miss! thankfully we got parked, there isn't really another option if you can't get parked in the car parks.

One little thing to remember and nothing the hotel can do about it. The rooms and floors are very higgldy piggldy, there are elevetors to all floors, but certain ones go to a different part of the hotel, then you might get to a dead end, and then have to go to an elevator and walk through it to the the other side and BAM there is the room, very odd!!

Room Tip: Ask for directions at reception to your room, or a map and compass!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When visiting Southport we always stay at The Clifton. We have just returned from our second trip and already plan to go back again in October! The best part of our trip was the care and service we received throughout our stay. A special thank you to everyone at the front desk, particularly Jolene and Jennie. My son and I especially enjoyed the spa, including the great indoor pool, sauna and steam! Thank you again!

Room Tip: We prefer the older classic rooms on the first and second floors facing the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, i was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the Spa and Leisure facilities are a great facility, I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews