We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem !”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staff provided excellent service anticipating my needs. Great views.
Timely room service and helpful information Food tasty
If only the weather was a good! Spa and fitness center excellent. Everything is close by

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    546
    327
    155
    116
See reviews for
245
750
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Bathroom had no ventilation & the window was sealed. Cracked basin & floor tile.
Old, uncomfortable spring mattress. Hot, dingy room & window would only open a few inches. Manager was very disinterested. £80 & no breakfast- disgusting!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any. My sister had to ask to move as was over a noisy machine outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judyromsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is unashamedly an old building with as much modernisation that could be done without destroying the character of the hotel. Its position is outstanding and the view from the front rooms are stunning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langtree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had read previous reviews and had at times expressed concerns about staying, the fact is I have now stayed twice in three months for weekend breaks and in every area the hotel has exceeded expectations. Friendly staff, professional service, excellent breakfasts and a nice pint in the bar. If you are going to stay, do not expect a 5 star "international" chain type of hotel with crisp white walls, black marble interior supplemented by sedate lighting and mirrors with a team that responds with monotone answers, that is not the Clifton. If you want a hotel that in its day was fit for royalty, might even be willing to accept the "shabby chic", has rooms that range from a good size to excellent, want staff who have a smile and obviously understand that not everything is perfect but do their utmost to correct any mistakes and guarantee that they will try and make your stay enjoyable , then this is the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very pleasant stay made so in particular, by staff who went out of their way to please. I was somewhat disappointed in the first room allocated but was immediately moved to another on raising this with staff. Wasn't so struck on breakfast although there was plenty of it and it was well presented. I just found some of the items a bit bland. Ate an evening meal though which was fantastic and as nice as I've eaten anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting relatives. Unfortunately it was not the best experience. We were given room 231 which had a view of the fire escape and the courtyard where there was a wedding going on. Called reception to complain about the noise and were eventually moved to room 127. Nice sized room but bathroom was narrow. Shower not very effective and there was nowhere to put any toiletries. The taps were also the wrong way round - should be hot left, cold right.

Breakfast the following morning was average. We were put at the table near the toasting machine, that was also the route through to the tables at the back so there was a constant stream of people pushing past. The food was dry - it had been left out too long, the fried eggs were more like hard boiled eggs.

It is obvious from the stairs the hotel is two separate hotels joined together. It was like a maze trying to find the room. Overall the place is tired and need a complete refurbishment.

Will I stay here again? Absolutely not.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank userLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing