We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Royal Clifton in mid to late July 2014. We found the staff to be excellent throughout notably the general manager who brought our multitude of bags to our room. Reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable especially Ms Kielty. The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were excellent and the restaurant manager and his staff were hugely accommodating. The room was spacious with a great view out to sea. It was a little hot in the room during a very hot week but we were provided with a fan. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for its amenities - great pool and sauna - along with its central location and the high quality service staff provide. Thank you. Jay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    548
    329
    156
    118
See reviews for
247
752
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

On arrival we found no parking at the front as anyone can pay and display on the front car park so we were diverted to a dirty back ally car park.I made representation straight away about this but herd nothing.
We went to room 204 this should be a no go zone with a health warning or bio hazard sign on entry.
The filthy dirty sash windows open all the way and outside is a long drop down to industrial size pipes which during the night sound like an airport.
The view is off 4 enclosed walls at very close proximity but the shocker is the mold mildew dirt and rotten muck on the windows-photos attached.The bathroom is cramped and you can not use it with ease as the door nearly hits the sink when opened.These pictures were shown to staff on reception and I asked for a full refund which was refused, a token jesture of £25 was offered but rejected.i asked for a manager to ring me so I could get a refund but to date no call and its now been 7 days since are visit.The noise left us shattered onthe sunday with no choice but to go home and get some sleep and cutting short our stay in this area.This hotel should re classified as 2 star as it has too many problems along with what iv listed is also many other little problems, I never complain but I had to on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the BW Royal Clifton immediately after the 2014 Open Championship. We found the hotel location to be convenient to the coast and of good value. While the service was good and the cleanliness of the room also good, we were very pleased with the food at the hotel, both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank DaiQin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel Saturday night with my partner. We have stayed the night before in a lovely b&b as we decided to go a day earlier at a fraction of the price and also included a cooked breakfast.

On arriving at this hotel we could not park the car as there were no spaces as they open it up to the public. However, were advised to use the rear car park. Unfortunately, I had not realized the distance .. As I ended up with pain in my shoulder and had to keep stopping as is quite a distance to carry a decent sized bag! My partner has back problems so he couldn't help . I am just 5' and struggle with carrying heaving things, hence choosing a hotel with parking ! We called hotel prior to booking to check this facility who stated "parking not a problem".

Went up to the room which was located at the rear and omg.. All I can say I hope you don't visit on a hot day and need to open a window . It was disgusting as though never been cleaned an don't get me started on the lack of view! Why on earth would a guest want a nice view anyway?

Room far too warm to sleep and could hear mechanical noises and loud music .. All night long!

Room basic so don't be expecting anything fancy.

Staff varied, some polite and others found quite ignorant. You feel like what is the point in complaining as you can tell they were not interested.

Saying that, my partner had made a complaint re car park & feedback in relation to problems in the room. He showed reception pictures they looked horrified! They don't seem to have stepped foot in one!

Since our return we have both been shattered from the lack off sleep so he emailed the manager .. Nothing back ! No Customer service, no customer care, no interest in their health and safety concerns that were mentioned.

On the upside .. The health suite was nice and staff well mannered

My advice .. Go to 4star plus b B&b who can't do enough to help !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Me and my family ( auntie, 2 little cousins : one aged 2 one aged 7 and nana) stayed at this hotel overnight and it was definatley worth the money! It was such a lovely stay! We only stayed one night but that one night proved to us that we would definatley stay again! The service was excellent! The rooms and bathroom was well tidy and looked after.. the food was lovely! The only bad thing was we was in a family room and the two single bed bedroom view wasnt very nice, also woken up by noisey neighbours from the hotel next to us but there isnt much you can do about that.. other than that.. FANTASTIC STAY!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our wedding was held at the hotel on the 19th July. I would like to thank everyone involved in making our day so special. i could not fault anything. the staff were all amazing and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The food was delicious. The whole day ran so smoothly and our guest really enjoyed themselves. The wedding was perfect from start to finish.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki.mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are staying at the above hotel as we write this review. Sorry to say, its not going to get the best review it's ever had.
When we arrived yesterday, we checked in with no problem, with a lovely receptionist called Michelle. We got to our room, which I believe is in the 'family' section of the hotel (the furthest away from anyone else). Our room is ok, but certainly not the best we have had. The bathroom is fine, but not at all helpful for towel hanging or placing toiletries. Unless you call one small shelf near the door an ideal place. The carpets in both ours and our Grandson room are badly stained and to be honest, I did not want to walk bare foot on them. We were overlooking the back of the hotel, which is thoroughly unpleasant to say the least. Worse still, in our grandsons room, the window was broken and stuck back in place with cellotape. Unbelievable!
The décor is sadly outdated and bland. The chairs are stained and shiny. I could not bring myself to sit in them at all. We had no fridge, despite the stifling heat, although when we requested a fan to cool the room, we were supplied with one quickly. On visiting the restaurant that night for our first meal, we were turned away as we had not 'booked' a table and there was a coach trip visiting !!!! 3 residents paying top dollar turned away in favour of a coach trip. Oh well, you live and learn. Apparently, we should have been told to book on the day we arrived, but sadly we were not told this. Needless to say, we decided there and then that we would not use the restaurant again at night. but eat out at other places. 3 people eating, at around £16 per head for 5 nights. I would say that was a considerable loss in revenue, wouldn't you?

The hotel looks lovely from outside. It is in a spectacular position, close to shops/parks/bars/restaurants and Pleasureland amusement park. It could be fabulous. And I am sorry to give it a bad review, as we would definitely come again. But money needs spending and quickly. Its tired and looks it.

Tonight we had 'entertainment' put on by the hotel. I was led to believe a band was playing. What we got was one man, in a tux, playing a keyboard (mostly out of tune) and "singing". Think of it as Max Bygraves (sorry Max) but totally out of tune. Whoever booked this person must have a serious hearing problem. Needless to say, we retreated to our room instead.

So there you go. The bad bits. The good bit is the swimming pool/gym and sauna. Really nice, and the young man working there could not do more for you.
The conservatory bar is lovely, a pleasant place to watch the world go by. Very reasonably priced food and drinks, but not the single malt whisky (Oban) which is £4.20 a shot. Ouch.

All in all, not the worst place to stay, considering it's location, but Best Western should be spending money on this lovely hotel....and putting its residents first.

By the way. If there are 3 people staying in one room, why only put 2 cups on the tray?

Room Tip: If you are bringing children, expect to be put at the furthest end of the hotel. No good for people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smudgenozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing