We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised - terrible hotel”

Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as advertised - terrible hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel on Friday evening for a 2 night stay for my husbands 30th birthday. First impressions were ok, although the hotel seemed a little dated. We were given our room keys, 240 and 241. On walking into the rooms there was a "dirty" smell. The room was tiny and felt very claustrophobic and was dark despite it still being day light outside. Outside the window the view was of the back of the hotel, and was basically a view of brick walls. The bathroom was very old with a pink suite and a number of broken tiles. Room 241 was much the same. These were certainly not the nice, modern, newly renovated rooms I had seen on the website when booking!! I was gutted as this was booked for a special occasion. I went back to reception who offered to show us another room. However, this room was much the same except it backed onto a fan of some sort so was very noisy in the room. The receptionist advised that the "new" rooms at the front of the hotel were fully booked so we couldn't be moved to one of these. We decided to get a refund and leave. For the amount of money we spent we expected better - we expected what was advertised on the website - a clean, modern, spa hotel. When in reality this is a dim, run down hotel in much need of a deep clean and renovation. So gutted that our weekend has been ruined and we had to travel home as all other hotels in the area were now fully booked. Avoid this hotel - better rooms in a premier inn.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShellK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    567
    344
    167
    129
See reviews for
255
794
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A Best Western hotel, so we expected something different and were not disappointed.

Our room was comfortable, with a huge bathroom, thankfully it was not too warm as there is no air-con.

Good to see photographs of the hotel some sixty years ago exhibited.

All the staff that we encountered were very pleasent and helpful.

Good size pool in the Spa for guests to use for free

Dinner was good value for money and was well presented and served

Room Tip: Simply be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

You Can Only Book Per Room It Would Be Better
If You Could Book Dinner Bed & Breakfast As Well
As The Room At Same Time As You Are Booking
On Line. Parking Is Very Good Providing You Get
There Early To







  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

my husband and i stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. Everything about it was great the room was extremely good and with a lovely sea view. On the saturday evening there were 3 wedding parties going on and we thought we were in for a disturbed night but NO everything was fine. I can't praise this hotel enough. We will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Cfin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

First impression. Turned up at 12 aware too early to check in. Receptionist clearly just couldn't be bothered. Advised us to leave cases in a room opposite reception and to return at 2pm. That was it ...end of interaction. At that point it would have been nice to have been advised about the car parking and whether we could use the facilities. We returned at 2pm, same girl on reception managed to ask us whether we wanted newspaper or wake up call and point us in direction of the room. We helped ourselves to our cases and headed off to find our room only then realised we didn't know where the pool was or where the breakfast room was.

The room was shabby, faded and dated and the cleaning effort doesn't extend to corners. Had we not overheard that the hotel was full we would have asked for a different room after seeing the bathroom. Very dirty window ledge, mould where the bath met the floor, mould on the tiles. Just not worthy of
BW brand.

Public areas are much cleaner and the whole place reeks of cleaning solution first thing in the morning.

Rear facing rooms suffer from the noise of nightclubs on a weekend until past 4am.
The swimming pool is in the old garage and it feels like it. The steps from changing room to the pool were also dirty, as were the white plastic loungers.

Bar staff thrown by standard request. 2 gin and tonics ...so far so good. Paid and then i asked if he had any lemon or limes he offered lime cordial and when said i meant a slice of the lightbulb went on and he managed to find some.

On the up side they were host 3 wedding receptions and none of them hampered the stay. So in summary a receptionist needs some customer service training , a cleaner needs some elbow grease and the rooms need updating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#5 of 23 in Southport
1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing