We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Talbot Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosedale Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,840 results
Traveller rating
424
625
404
219
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
625
404
219
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservatory barpromenade viewfront facingspa facilitiessuperior roomsteam roomevening mealbit datedbreakfast was buffet stylelarge roomwedding receptionshort breaksea frontself servicenight breakfull englishlord street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,194 - 1,199 of 1,840 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped at this hotel for the Southport Flower Show,was situated in a great place to walk to the show and you can put your feet in the jacuzzi when you get back. The hotel is also place so you can get to Formby to see the red squirrels and there is some good bird watching points just down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After reading trip advisor reviews was not looking forward to visiting the hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. It is a Victorian hotel with a fabulous conservatory which was the backdrop for the wedding we attended. Staff were immaculate and very accommodating. Food was served hot and was very nice. My friends who got married stayed for 2 days and enjoyed their stay thoroughly. Our bedroom was very spacious and had everything you needed except for a mini bar, but we were only a short walk to the downstairs bar. The view of the marina was wonderful. Bed was comfy and very quiet. Did not manage to stay for breakfast but others that did in the party said it was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course the wedding, I will pass on your compliments to all of the team and hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After turning down the room at Edendale Hotel (truly awful) it was refreshing to receive such good customer service and to view a lovely clean room. As with all big hotels, the rooms are not grand, but it was large, had a nice view and a comfortable bed. Nice swiming pool too!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the front, as you will always have a nice view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was very pleased to read that you found the staff to be helpful and we were delighted that you chose the Royal Clifton, the hotel is a Victorian building with many period features and we are very proud of the hotel, we do hope that when you are next visiting Southport that you will choose to stay with us again.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews