We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit creaky. Some updating required.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A bit creaky. Some updating required.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A large, rather old fashioned hotel that seemed to cater mainly for coach parties. Bars and lounge areas tended to be quite noisy with loud groups.
Room was on promenade side, apparently better. However, although large and light, it was quite draughty and generally in need of a revamp. Fixtures and fittings adequate but old. Coloured bathroom suite, basic taps, shower, wrap around shower curtain in bath, etc.
Buffet breakfast was OK. Coach parties had their own function room.
Free wifi with very limited range. Didn't reach my room.
General feeling was that hotel would have been great in the 70's/80's but needs to get into the 2000's. Maybe it's clientele are happy with the way it is? This traveller would be looking for a bit more.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room beforehand. Stay close top reception for wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    567
    344
    167
    129
See reviews for
255
794
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stopped in this place several times and although in need of a refurb was okay for 1-2 nights. Stayed recently and received a £100 parking fine a week or two after leaving. Phoned to ask why but little reason given and took the Duty Manager a while before he would apologise for the inconvenience. Still heard nothing from the General Manager in writing some weeks later! The parking eye recorded me going out early in the morning and returning about an hour later to visit the local Victoria Leisure Complex for an early morning session as the Hotel's own does not open early enough for business people. Bye the way the Hotel's leisure complex is now looking very tired and In need of a good clean come refurb - the zesty staff who used to be there have moved on unfortunately.
Be warned that you will get a parking notice when unwarranted and not even a letter of apology from Management when they are i the wrong.
On a good note the restaurant in the evening is very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton, I was very disappointed to read the difficulties that you encountered with the car park as we do offer complimentary parking for all of our overnight guests, the procedure for logging your registration details with reception would have been exactly the same as your previous visits whereby you enter the details of your car into our parking eye system.so I am unsure as to why you received a fine, I can assure you that I was not aware of any correspondence and would be grateful if you could send me a copy of this so I am able to investigate why this was not dealt with at the time. I have noted your comments regarding the Health Club and we will certainly consider reviewing the opening times, we have very recently refurbished the pool area and also replaced some of the gym equipment. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Filey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped at this hotel for the Southport Flower Show,was situated in a great place to walk to the show and you can put your feet in the jacuzzi when you get back. The hotel is also place so you can get to Formby to see the red squirrels and there is some good bird watching points just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After reading trip advisor reviews was not looking forward to visiting the hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. It is a Victorian hotel with a fabulous conservatory which was the backdrop for the wedding we attended. Staff were immaculate and very accommodating. Food was served hot and was very nice. My friends who got married stayed for 2 days and enjoyed their stay thoroughly. Our bedroom was very spacious and had everything you needed except for a mini bar, but we were only a short walk to the downstairs bar. The view of the marina was wonderful. Bed was comfy and very quiet. Did not manage to stay for breakfast but others that did in the party said it was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course the wedding, I will pass on your compliments to all of the team and hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After turning down the room at Edendale Hotel (truly awful) it was refreshing to receive such good customer service and to view a lovely clean room. As with all big hotels, the rooms are not grand, but it was large, had a nice view and a comfortable bed. Nice swiming pool too!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the front, as you will always have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was very pleased to read that you found the staff to be helpful and we were delighted that you chose the Royal Clifton, the hotel is a Victorian building with many period features and we are very proud of the hotel, we do hope that when you are next visiting Southport that you will choose to stay with us again.

Andrea Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing