We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again ,worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 25 September 2010

i stayed here with my mum on the weekend of the 12th looking forward to a lovely break having seen this hotel on there website, wished i read these reviews before booking.
very dated hotel needs a lick of paint on the outside and THATS before you go inside . check in was good although you could not go to your room till 2pm however the next day i saw a party of golfers going up to there rooms in the morning so perhaps theres different rules for different people. room wasnt bad but beware they are bloody freezing old fashioned telly , have they not heard of flatscreens here yet the lounge area is very very poor and very dated. to my nightmare the disabled toilet is in the womens this is just outrageous and surely against the law . food in the hotel at night was poor as they call it a fine dine eating place . breakfast was buffet style , coffee was like stew and god knows where they got the orange juice from . the lift is very very small and was very hard to get yourself in plus a wheelchair . on check out i told the manager how it was a bad experience it had been and was there any chance of a discount guess what i got 10 quid of the price the only good point about this place is the staff especially eva in the dining room never again

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,584 - 1,590 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

Visited with friends Mon_Fri Food and service Excellent
Had bedroom 2nd floor rear Decorations a bit tired paper peeling in places
Toilet seat had two odd brackets and shower head held up with string i reported this to very nice chamber maid at 9.30am fixed by 4'00pm
3 nights sleep OK (bed on hard side for us) Thurs night settled down 11.15pm Base music
from nightclub Along back road too loud. thought it might stop at 1200pm . No chance

At 2.15 am rang reception and was offered another room declined as we were leaving fri.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tivvy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I am lying in bed whilst staying at the Royal Clifton Hotel. It is 2:20 am, loud music is blasting out from the night club behind the hotel. I have the TV on to try and drown out the noise but it isn't working. The bass is vibrating the glass on the single glazed window to dirty, dated and broken room. There are no spare rooms in the hotel so I cannot change. The room is disgusting, it smelled like old people. There was a layer of thick dust covering most of the exposed surfaces in the room. Lights around the dresser are broken. The handle is missing from the bedside drawer so rather than replace it they have glued it shut. All this in a room that costs £100 per night. This is a disgrace, I have honestly never stayed at such a bad hotel. Oh and the bed is really uncomfortable and the pillows are a joke. Never stay at this hotel it must be in the running for the worst hotel in the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

It has been over a year since we last visited this hotel. It was in a poor state then and not much has changed. We were allocated a frontage double room on the first floor. There have been / are some improvement works being undertaken, but whoever thought that putting a suspended office style ceiling into the bedrooms is a fool. Open the rotting sash window to let in some much needed fresh air and the ceiling tiles begin to bang about in their frames. New lighting was good, but I did notice that the smoke alarm/detector vvas missing from its fitment. (naughty) The TV in the room worked, but the remote did not, although the receptionist did offer to find a replacement. The room was of a good size, though the bed has to be experienced to be believed. I am not the lightest of people, yet my weight made not the slightest impression on the mattress. A hard bed barely begins to describe it and a poor and interrupted nights sleep was in store.
We ate in the restaurant and this was a bit of a mixed bag. My meal was fine, but my wife had a different experience with mashed potato that was so hot that it burned your mouth. Clearly it had been microwaved to achieve the status of a nuclear threat, and this only then provokes the thought of how much else has been pre-prepared and just heated up. Not the standards to be expected from a 3 star hotel.
Without question, the best thing about this hotel are its staff. The receptionist on booking in was friendly, pleasant and efficient and had a sense of humour. Despite a number of my little niggles she dealt with them all efficientl and as best she was able, only thwarted by the inadequacies of the hotel itself. Checking out was equally as efficient and speedy too.

This was a second chance for this hotel for us, and it has to be said that there won't be a third visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

As a Best western we thought this would be a good hotel. However the standards were extremely poor. Not only are the rooms outdated, the level of cleanliness was poor. Counterpanes were filthy, as were the soft furnishings. The very old furniture is covered in glass sheets, which harbours layers upon layers of dirt and dust. We discovered there are much cleaner and higher quality hotels and bed and breakfasts at a very similar cost.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel in Southport.
One thing to notel that the picture you see of the frontage of this hotel is taken from the park across the busy road, therefore it is very deceiving as you would think the hotel was standing in its own grounds when it is not.
The twin bedroom that I booked was terrible. It was dirty, outdated and in a very poor condition.
There was a grubby net curtain at the window which was sagging at the top in the middle due to the curtain wire being too long. The sash windows in both the bedroom and bathroom require replacing as they were rotten and very dirty.
One of the wall lights by the bed was hanging off the wall and there was no cover on the electric smoke alarm.
The TV in the room really needs updating and moving into a position so that you can comfortably watch TV whilst sitting on your bed.
We moved the room around so that the beds were facing the TV, only to find all sorts of dirt and rubbish underneath the beds!!
The bathroom was also very poor with tired paintwork that was chipped and dirty. When you had a shower the water flooded the bathroom floor and we had to use the towels to walk on it was that wet.
Overall extremely disappointed with our room, I would have complained but my husband would not let me and he did not want to cause a fuss.
The only plus side for this hotel is that it is centrally located and does a good buffet breakfast.
I would not recommend staying here, if you go to Southport stay in the Ramada Plaza.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigletlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My large family and i have stayed at the royal clifton many times and after our last visit in July 2010 we have booked to come back for a weeks stay. The reason we stay there primerly is we are a family of 7 and they have the space to fit us all in one room rather than 2 rooms at other hotels. It has lovely views of the pier and beach. Very plesent, accomodating staff that cant do enough for you. A lovely buffet breakfast, eat as much as you like. I found the leisure facilites invaluable the children loved the pool you could not get them out. I did not find the changing rooms dirty in fact the opposite. Yes when we have been there they have had weddings etc but this did not encrouch on our stay at all infact it was exciting for our girls to see the bride etc. I would definitly give the hotel a rating of 10 out of 10 well done royal clifton looking forward to our return in August 2010.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: £40 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing