We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor and dated rooms with poor sound proofing but great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night at the front of the hotel. The rooms were extremely dated with poor fittings and a musty smell. Between the constant street noise which went on to the early hours and noisy guests returning to their rooms it was difficult to get any sleep. The toilet door didn't shut, the pillows were non-existent and the remote to the TV long since dispensed with. On the positives the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good and if you like a range of bitter the bar will suit. This place does have potential but needs some serious cash spent on it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

we stayed at the hotel for my husbands birthday the staff made us feel very welcome and gave him a birthday cake at breakfast. the meals in the restuarant were very well presented and the menu changed on a daily basis so even though we stayed 4 nights had something different each day . the leisure club was also very nice. we will certainly return later in the year

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Arrived and welcomed promptly. Room not ready, but case taken up for us, whilst we ate excellent lunch in Maloney's Bar. Well equipped room, but standard light would not work. One young man tried to help but 2 bulbs blew. Did have it working for second night. Good lightling really important for older eyes. Excellent meal in Knightsbridge Rest. on Saturday evening. We were rushed in to get the special deal, which was slightly disappointing, as 4 more couples came in quite a lot later- and were on the same deal! All staff friendly, attentive and quick. Breakfast amazing- anyone not happy with selection most unreasonable! Sunday night carvery- excellent again. Parking easy. Only downside- and it is a REALLY SERIOUS downside- the absolutely appalling racket until 4.30 a.m. on the Sunday a.m. I think it might be sensible of the hotel to at the time of booking- it made my first night a misery. Where on earth are the people who are supposed to monitor noise? Also- no details re spa in room, and not actually that easy to find!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clocks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Arrived for three nights, and first room was on second floor. Eventually got to sleep at 2am once music which sounded as though in our room. Following day moved to fourth floor where noise could not be heard. In bathroom smell of stagnant water backing up in bath, electrical wires exposed when magnifying mirrir came of in hands when tried to move it. Thick layer of dust above door frame in bathroom. Electrical wires exposed from light fitting in bedroom. Reported but nothing done about. Tea/coffee not replenished in room and mugs not washed out. Service in restaurant not good saw other tables being served tea and coffee but not offered to us. When asked for this told it was now outside in lounge area, it was but it was stone cold. Could say a lot more but won't. Although my wife was taking part in event locally, the weekend was paid for her as pre-retirement gift for me. Food was good. On checking out made mention again of problems and we were told that all complaints were treated seriously and someone would get back to us. After 7 days still no contact from them, obviously customer service does not feature highly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tandgtravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Many of Southport's hotels are old, jaded, and faded. The Scarisbrick has the additional setback of having a noisy and popular late night bar on the ground floor, which is why I've never considered staying there before. However, the truth is that the interior is very well kept, the room was lovely, the staff helpful and good, and the food (breakfast only) of reasonable quality. Never judge a book by its cover!

Shame about the noisy bar, though.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank connery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Travelled up to Southport on business with a couple of collegues and so booked in at the Scarisbrick hotel after it had been recommended by my boss. As usual he was spot on with his judgements as we all agreed it was the ideal place to stay. The staff were extremely welcoming, polite and very helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were of good size and very comfortable, perfect after a long day's negotiation.

I have to say, i was most impressed with the quality of food which was cooked to perfection. On the first night i had lamb which was beautifully cooked and simply fell off the bone. On the second night i ordered some salmon which again was well cooked and full of flavour. My collegues and I also enjoyed an excellent range of wine with our meals which made the trip all the more enjoyable.

The Scarisbrick Hotel is now well established within our company as the place to stay in Southport!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobRoulet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed here for the Sunday night special at the beginning of January, and have to say it was real value for money.
We had a warm spacious room with plenty of wardrobe space.
Both the evening carvery and the breakfast were superb ! Great choice of meats for the carvery and the buffet breakfast was a delight.
The staff were ever so attentive and friendly on both occasions, which really made the stay for us.
We made use of the leisure facilities, and these were very good and should be tried durinhg your stay.
All in all, a welcome stay and one that we will repeat soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertonhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarisbrick Hotel Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarisbrick Hotel Southport

Address: 239 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £35 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarisbrick Hotel Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport is ideally situated right in the heart of the town, on the main boulevard Lord Street, in the midst of Southport's busy nightlife. This traditional characteristic building is in a prime location to enjoy all that Southport has to offer, combining elegant and stylish decor with modern luxury. This hotel is perfect for business meetings, or for those simply looking for an enjoyable seaside stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scarisbrick Hotel Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarisbrick Southport
Hotel Scarisbrick Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing