We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor and dated”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we booked this hotel last minute before reading any reviews. big mistake. the hotel is ideally situated in the centre of southport. but thats its only plus side. on arrival we were directed to our room via a lift that smelt of urine. we used the stairs for the rest of the visit. on finding our room the door would only partly open due to the bed being behind the door. the room was very dated and the bed the most uncomfortable we have ever used. the carpet was worn and the floorboards moved as we walked over it. on using the bathroom we found no toilet roll and not enough towels.the iron in the room was burnt black and unusable.. our room looked over a alley where the hotel nightclub was housed and the noise went on to early morning. we had to try and sleep with the window closed in a very hot room, the hotel did supply a very dirty fan. other guests were also very loud when returning to their rooms at night. the door to our room would not close without slamming. and we had to return to reception twice because our key cards would not open the room door. breakfast was edible only just. over all a very poor stay at a very poor hotel.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    259
    314
    304
    672
See reviews for
291
794
62
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston Village
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Re previous reviews, tramp still outside hotel along with a few 'druggies' - quite frightening. If you don't listen to reviews, then make sure you book a room away from The Avenue nightclub in the lane at side of hotel - I can promise, you will get no sleep whatsoever. Try changing rooms - impossible (but then it's only a youngster on reception). No management whatsoever. My wife and I (tried) to spend 4 nights in room 215 - any rooms on that side of hotel DON'T TAKE! Two other couples had no hot water in the shower, electricity in another couple's room blew twice, one couple had no water at all (no cold, no hot), another couple put into a single room with double bed - no room to swing a cat. This hotel is the pits. Once it must have been a grand hotel but now that Britannia has taken over, it's like another Britannia hotel I stayed in last year whilst visiting the Chelsea Flower Show - it was filthy.
Please, if you are reading this, avoid this hotel at any cost - this is a genuine review.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at side of hotel - The Avenue nightclub goes on till 4am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

just got back from the scarisbrick,,dont what all the fuss is all about..first of all just found a place at the back of the hotel,"lucky"..are room was on the 2nd floor,quite big.,needed decorating like most of them..having said that the food was excellent,and as much as you want.we had no problem with the staff they where allways helpfull.if you wanted a quiet room we where on the 2nd floor ,very peacefull. the hotel was very very clean,we would deffo go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100nic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I first stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago. It was a little dated then, but was more quaint though clean and tidy. Breakfast and dinner were 5 star quality and you felt special. Stayed again this week but how things have changed. You have to queue for meals and wait for a table to be seated. The meals are self service but third rate. Breakfast was well presented but only fried or boiled eggs and same every morning. No fresh fruit which was annoying as I am diabetic and all the tinned fruit on offer is too high in sugar for me as was the juice which was sweetened. Toast was horrendously soggy and I would much rather make my own. We could make own tea or coffee at the table which was good.

We did not book for dinner as we have experienced a Britannia hotel before and are not impressed. Only reason we chose it this time was because we knew hotel.

There is a lovely pool and gym but we were annoyed to find we had to pay a £10 per head charge for the week or £4 for every separate use. The pool is also open for outside membership but is not big enough to accommodate all this activity. There is also a problem with showered in changing room as there is no temperature control. My advice is use showers outside steam room as they can be controlled. You also have to walk up several stairs from changing room to pool and jacuzzi so pool shoes are a must. The gym is fairly well equipped and staff were very helpful.

They have changed the lounge at the front of hotel into trendy bar diner. They bought over a shop to do this but have full length glass windows which means you are in full view of public in Lord Street whilst eating and drinking which is not for me. They have bought shop on other side and are filling it with amusements which completely lowers the tone of the whole place.

The rooms and corridors could all do with upgrade in decor but rooms were of a reasonable standard of cleanliness apart from shower which had bad mould in the corners. As we swam twice a day we did not need to use it or we would have complained.

The brochure for this hotel does not explain about the noise. There is a narrow alley at one side of the hotel which has several bars and clubs in it. My advice is stay on the 4th floor on the right of the building to get a nights sleep.

I guess you get what you pay for and this is quite a cheap way to stay in Southport. It is so sad though to see this once grand hotel reduced to a cheap and nasty budget hotel. Britannia I don't like your ethos of the way a hotel should be run and will be avoiding your company at all costs in the future after two bad experiences

Room Tip: Stay high and on right of building at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUFC3499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Scarsbrick room 415 on side where THE AVENUE night club is never got any sleep due to loud music/band until 4.00 am, reception staff very unhelpful and refused to change room. After two days demanded to see manager he was very nice and changed the room on last day of stay. Don't ask reception staff for anything they do nothing for you. Restaurant very small breakfast cold, very difficult to get in to at night due to lack of space and tables very closely put together fire hazard! when in restruant one of the staff through a cleaning cloth over my head barely missing me, lift really slow, would never go back has put me of Southport would never go back.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms facing on to the avenue night club - left hand side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

me and a friend stayed at the scarisbrick hotel on Friday 6th June 2014 as a surprise birthday present off 1 of my friends, the hotel is old and dated but to be honest i think the hotel is meant for the older generation. i think the rooms need updating and new furniture but my stay here was pleasant, the room we got was spacious we had a lovely view outside the hotel.. but at night it did get a tad noisy! the room was clean,bathroom was clean but under close inspection later on we noticed stains on the wall and from what looks like either coke or coffee stains, the headboard had stains on it, the quilt had a rip in it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very disappointed with the room which was very small, only just room for a double bed. This should have been a single room. There was a tramp sitting on the step at the front door which didn't give us a good impression. The window was small and even standing on the bed we couldn't reach it. There was no window covering. The room was very claustrophobic. The noise from the disco downstairs kept going until the early hours of the morning and kept us awake. Hotel advertises itself for stag and hen weekends. Car park is very small and don't wait in the pay and display car park nearby as it is monitored by cameras and you will get a ticket if you don't pay! We got a ticket after only 11 minutes whilst I was inside the hotel trying to find out where to park as the hotel car park was full. I've never been to a hotel where chips were on the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junie285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarisbrick Hotel Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarisbrick Hotel Southport

Property: Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Address: 239 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarisbrick Hotel Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport is ideally situated right in the heart of the town, on the main boulevard Lord Street, in the midst of Southport's busy nightlife. This traditional characteristic building is in a prime location to enjoy all that Southport has to offer, combining elegant and stylish decor with modern luxury. This hotel is perfect for business meetings, or for those simply looking for an enjoyable seaside stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scarisbrick Hotel Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarisbrick Southport
Hotel Scarisbrick Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing