We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather kip in the van”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you're feeling nostalgic and fancy a trip back in time to the 70's/early 80's then a great bedbug biting time your going to have. The whole 'hotel' (I've stayed in better hostels), is incredibly outdated and in need of a major renovation. Mr Sheen would have his work cut out, not to mention his mate Henry the Hoover! Pleased I only had to stay the one night. General dirtiness, light fittings hanging off the walls, incredibly inconsiderate guests in nearby rooms, and not to mention the infamous 'nightclub' below. Rule of thumb: you only get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

i was in a hired a hall for a lunch on the 12th july for over 50 people and a few elderly disabled only to find that there is to many steps even with a ramp no help was given by the staff as the ramp was far to steep the toilets from the room we hired was also down the same ramp there are grants to upgrade why has this not been done as for the food roast dinner but far to much on the plate think its needs to be more refined and not like a dockers dinner

Room Tip: if your are hiring for a wedding or birthday, anniversary dinner for get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank ladybird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Heard good reviews , so thought I would book, just did 2 night offer , was enough! Food not to bad, but the room was like a shoebox! Just fit double bed then a step up to a bath & WBC, that's that , at end of stay , stripped the bed as I normally do ! Well, no mattress topper , and the stain on the bed! Aw yuk! Think the pic is on my camera,,,, no , won't be going back there ,,,

Room Tip: My brother went before me and got a room with a window that was double glazed so , no ventilation, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank kath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

if u r thinking of going here dont. spent 4 nights there last week, he room we got was like a sauna and window didnt open, i am asthmatic so couldnt breathe properley, asked for differant room the only one was just the same,it was for health reasons i wanted to move as i had bee in hospital on a life support machine due to an asthma attack so didnt want anything to agrevate it, staff on the desk wre not interested they didnt care, on our last day nice young man called mathew changed the room he was the only one that cared, but by this time i just wanted to get out of the horrible place,will not go back there again.makes you wonder if they bother to read these reviews as they dont do anything to put things right. take my advice steer clear of the place , you have been warned. disgusted from worsley

Room Tip: dont pick any, just dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 101margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

After a week of work then driving from London to southport to have a room with no window hot and stuffy the size of a broom cupboard and had to stay in bed while my partner got ready this was terribble, however the reception did move us the following morning the room was a fair size but we could not open the windows and we had all the night clubs outside the window, and no hot water, I had better accommodation when I served in Afghanistan with the army!!!! Sorry but I wish I stayed in the Prince of Wales across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel itself was actually quite nice, the room was fine, clean, with an ironing board,iron and hairdrier. The staff were friendly too. The major set backs, there were two, were the lack of parking, but mainly my complaint was the situation of our room. We were in room B5 on the first floor, if you stay at this hotel, don't let them give you that room, or rooms next to it! Being on the first floor was fine, but definately not at the back of the hotel, where we were! Our bedroom directly faced the main entrance to a night club, which was open until 4.30am!! The noise was awful, impossible to sleep, you felt like you were in the club with them! It made it worse because it seemed like the doors were never shut, due to frequent smokers coming and going! Friends of ours were also allocated a room at the back, 427 on the fourth floor, but they never heard anything, as their room was overlooking the small courtyard/carpark area inbetween the two blocks.
We only went for the weekend, I imagine there will not be noise like we experienced if you go midweek. I did ask to be moved on Saturday morning, but unfortunately I was told the hotel was full so I had to grin and bare it! I did sleep Saturday, by consuming a couple of extra alcoholic beverages!!!! Will definatley return, as it was good value for money, we booked it through UK Breakaways.
I will return there, as the food was excellent and there were choices of bars within the hotel if you prefered to stay in.

Room Tip: Pick a floor at the front!! Or if your at the back, DON'T be fobbed off with B5!!! Or ajoining r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lezerloo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Only used this as it was a spur of the moment booking and a cheap bed for the night.
Good all you can eat breakfast on the positive side.
Apart from that this is a tired hotel which needs some updating and a good clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lee610027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarisbrick Hotel Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarisbrick Hotel Southport

Address: 239 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £28 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarisbrick Hotel Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport is ideally situated right in the heart of the town, on the main boulevard Lord Street, in the midst of Southport's busy nightlife. This traditional characteristic building is in a prime location to enjoy all that Southport has to offer, combining elegant and stylish decor with modern luxury. This hotel is perfect for business meetings, or for those simply looking for an enjoyable seaside stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scarisbrick Hotel Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarisbrick Southport
Hotel Scarisbrick Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing