We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed in hotel on a golf trip with a group of 18 the room we had was very small, the smallest twin room i have ever stayed in and it was very hot. Unlike other rooms our window did open so to have some fresh air you had to listen to the kitchen fans of Pizza Express all night. The bathroom was so small you could use all the facilities without moving a step. We were half board the breakfast was ok but you had to get a flask of hottish water to make tea or coffee, dinner had a choice of dishes but no better than the breakfast both meal times can get busy. Location was good central to bars and shops short walk to sea front and pier. The only good point of the hotel was the real ale bar which was only £2.10 a pint I suppose the price made up from the poor condition of hotel. If I was offered free accommodation I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Like others have said to choose a good room stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful old building with lots of charm in the centre of Southport.
But... awful place to stay:
Unfriendly, unhelpful staff.
Boasts a pool - but it closes at 4pm at the weekend so no use at all for those arriving in the afternoon.
Small bedroom with an 'en-suite' that was a bath length long and about 4ft wide - couldn't sit on toilet without knees hitting wash basin. Had to dry myself in the bath as there was no space to next to it to stand.
Not clean, just felt grubby.
So noisy, lots of pubs & clubs in area belting out loud music until the early hours.
No parking (it does tell you that on website to be fair)
To sum up there's poster which promotes the type of activities and clientele they are aiming for... 'Stag parties - bucket of beer on arrival'
It's rough, really rough!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back after a Friday night there me my wife and 11 year old daughter we was kept up all night with loud music and partying until 4 am had to have windows shut but couldn't breathe with the heat no fans they knew we had a child why put us in that room where all the bars are located spoilt our night do not take children here very disappointed they could have put us in other room with a child away from nightlife it's a shame because had some good points

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahanwhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you're feeling nostalgic and fancy a trip back in time to the 70's/early 80's then a great bedbug biting time your going to have. The whole 'hotel' (I've stayed in better hostels), is incredibly outdated and in need of a major renovation. Mr Sheen would have his work cut out, not to mention his mate Henry the Hoover! Pleased I only had to stay the one night. General dirtiness, light fittings hanging off the walls, incredibly inconsiderate guests in nearby rooms, and not to mention the infamous 'nightclub' below. Rule of thumb: you only get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

i was in a hired a hall for a lunch on the 12th july for over 50 people and a few elderly disabled only to find that there is to many steps even with a ramp no help was given by the staff as the ramp was far to steep the toilets from the room we hired was also down the same ramp there are grants to upgrade why has this not been done as for the food roast dinner but far to much on the plate think its needs to be more refined and not like a dockers dinner

Room Tip: if your are hiring for a wedding or birthday, anniversary dinner for get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank ladybird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Heard good reviews , so thought I would book, just did 2 night offer , was enough! Food not to bad, but the room was like a shoebox! Just fit double bed then a step up to a bath & WBC, that's that , at end of stay , stripped the bed as I normally do ! Well, no mattress topper , and the stain on the bed! Aw yuk! Think the pic is on my camera,,,, no , won't be going back there ,,,

Room Tip: My brother went before me and got a room with a window that was double glazed so , no ventilation, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank kath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

if u r thinking of going here dont. spent 4 nights there last week, he room we got was like a sauna and window didnt open, i am asthmatic so couldnt breathe properley, asked for differant room the only one was just the same,it was for health reasons i wanted to move as i had bee in hospital on a life support machine due to an asthma attack so didnt want anything to agrevate it, staff on the desk wre not interested they didnt care, on our last day nice young man called mathew changed the room he was the only one that cared, but by this time i just wanted to get out of the horrible place,will not go back there again.makes you wonder if they bother to read these reviews as they dont do anything to put things right. take my advice steer clear of the place , you have been warned. disgusted from worsley

Room Tip: dont pick any, just dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 101margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarisbrick Hotel Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarisbrick Hotel Southport

Address: 239 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £27 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarisbrick Hotel Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport is ideally situated right in the heart of the town, on the main boulevard Lord Street, in the midst of Southport's busy nightlife. This traditional characteristic building is in a prime location to enjoy all that Southport has to offer, combining elegant and stylish decor with modern luxury. This hotel is perfect for business meetings, or for those simply looking for an enjoyable seaside stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scarisbrick Hotel Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarisbrick Southport
Hotel Scarisbrick Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing