We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch”
Review of Gastro Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Gastro Bar & Grill
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Gastro Bar and Grill, set in the heart of Birkdale Village in Southport, has been designed with you in mind. From the stylish décor and sleek, sophisticated design - to the exciting and innovative menu, the Gastro Bar and Grill is all that you could wish for from a restaurant and bar. The Gastro offers guests a fun and casual dining experience. You may be looking for somewhere to celebrate a special occasion or simply to pop in for a bite to eat with family, friends or business colleagues. Whatever the occasion, you’ll be welcomed by our friendly, dedicated staff, all wanting to make it a memorable experience for you. The menu at the Gastro Bar & Grill is complimented by an abundance of market fresh specials. Our varied and exciting menu will ensure that all tastes are catered for. Don’t take our word for it…come and see for yourself!
italia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Been here many times. Very reasonable for lunch. Staff very different. The manager is lovely the male not too sure he should be working with the public. Food nice at lunch time and cheap. Evening rather expensive for what it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maldini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Went with a friend for a midweek treat. Wasn't very busy but diners were cleverly arranged so as not to feel alone or overcrowded. Food was delicious and much better than the £12.95 for 2 courses price tag. Plenty of variety and I believe the menu is changed every couple of weeks. Staff kept the balance between attentive and overbearing just right. Already planning our next visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst eating experience - ever”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We used to be regular diners at the Gastro until late last year when my husband had a seriously bad meal. We thought we would leave it a couple of months and try again so last night we did 16/3/13. Serious mistake. The table was dirty and we had to ask to have it cleaned. The food was awful, I started with Prawn's Pil Pil - not good. My husband had Fillet steak and I had Cod wrapped in Parma Ham both of which where unbelievably dry and tasteless. My husbands suit (yes some people still wear suits to go out for dinner) had wax on it from off the table and when we got home we discovered that the seat of the trousers was covered in wax obviously off the chair. Luckily for the restaurant we managed to get the wax off or they would have been presented with a bill for a very expensive suit. We did complain and in fairness to the management she offered to wave the price of the food, we declined the offer as we wanted to be taken seriously about our complaint and not thought of as people trying not to pay by complaining. The standard of this restaurant is now so poor we will never visit again and as two people whose bill is always over £100 it is definitely their loss.
Take our advice - don't go
As an aside - the menu hasn't been changed for years

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B, Manager at Gastro Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. Felix our Assistant Manager wanted you to move tables so that he could amend the situtaion, however you were happy to stay at that table so Felix wiped the wax away. We are concerned to hear you later found wax on your husbands suit trousers'. Please take up the offer, that our restaurant manager Emma extended on the evening, for us to dry clean your husbands' suit.

Our staff always check with customers how their meal is to make sure that everything is to their taste, this is where we hope that a customer will raise any concerns they may have with their meal so we can fix it. Emma did check with you during your meal and as you said everything was ok, Emma was surprised to hear at the end of your evening that you weren't happy with your meal. We take every customers' concerns seriously and did not mean to insult you by offering you a complimentary meal, however we hope the complimentary brandies you accepted were taken as they were intended, as a gesture of goodwill.

Our chefs' change our menus seasonally and the Cod wrapped in Parma Ham was a new addition to the menu in February. We have signature dishes, such as the Crab and the Seabass which we keep on the menu throughout the year as they are so popular.

We are sorry the cod was not up to standard for you. We sold 8 other cod wrapped in parma ham dishes that evening and had no other complaints. Another customer complimented Emma on what a smooth running restaurant she has maintained and that the food has never been better.

We are very disappointed that you feel the way you do as the team work so hard and get such positive feedback.

Kind regards

Heidi Burgess
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good mid week fixed price menu”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This restaurant located in Birkdale village near Southport is a conversion from an old Bank so it is a bit cavernous for a mid week dinner. But it was able to retain a good atmosphere even though it was not heaving like the last time that we visited at a weekend. The fixed price menu had a good range of options and met our group's requirements. My whitebait starter and beef and ale main were very good. The rest of the group went for the salmon and spinach encroute and were very complementary. The house wine was good value and the service very good. All courses were substantial and well presented. Using the fixed price menu gave us excellent value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B, Marketing Manager at Gastro Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience.

Our fixed price menu is very popular! Chef changes it fortnightly so that our customers have plenty of variety.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Regards

Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stylish Eating”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The first impression of this restaurant was really good. The decor trendy & comfortable. I have visited twice for lunch here and three times at the sister Gastro in Lydiate and my only complaint is that on each occasion felt cold. That said, the welcome was warm and so was the food. The choice is good especially with the addition of 'Light Bites' if you don't want a heavy lunch. The food served was quite delicious. Another welcome option(although I haven't yet used it) is the facility to take afternoon coffee whilst picking up emails. I look forward to trying The Gastro one evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puggygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastro Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing