We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day out”

Southport Marine Lake
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

loverly day out with loverly sites to see nice and clean will be coming back to southport.plus got swan boats where you can hire them out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    157
    33
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Complex”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took the kids down to the marina at Southport Bank Hol Mon. Weather was perfect and it wasnt too busy.
We took them on the jet boat which to be honest was a little over priced at £19 for the 4 of us. However, IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. The speed and the thrill was fantastic and the smiles on all our faces was priceless.
I didnt want to get off it but unfortunately my purse told me otherwise. I would have sat in it all day if i could
The overall marina area is lovely. Its clean and well looked after. There are a few snack areas and one has a "club" singer entertaining who ever wants to listen. Not me though as he was terrible lol but the oldies seemed to be swaying in time with the music.
There is a fairly new adventure type park on the marina which was full of happy children including my own getting up to mischief and exploring what it had to offer. Its a very pleasurable walk with boats and water walkers to try.
The overall experience was fanatstic and as the sun came out to play with us I couldn't complain about anything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent marina”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In general the marina has lots of entertainment for the whole family. Boat hire, crazy golf, adventure playgrounds, model railway, amusements etc. The café with the outside singer is looking rather tired. The café itself is very untidy and at the weekend the very unfriendly barman poured half a pint of slops into my glass. When I said I wasn't drinking that he gave me a look of disgust and said 'next'. I would never visit this tacky, dirty place again. Overall the marina is a lovely place to take the family but steer clear of the café. There are much nicer, cleaner and friendlier cafes in Southport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blinkinink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a.lovely day with a trip out on the motor boats. There is lots to do here with power boat rides etc

Helpful?
1 Thank jenkinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“nearly there !”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The gardens and surrounding area have been under going a major facelift. This is almost completed. It only seems like the finishing touches are being done.
There is a new children's play area now which is being well used. Looks like fun !
The café has been refurbished and has live music most afternoons. The ideal place for a cup of tea or coffee, or, if you prefer a cold beer.
Model village still there with the railway going around it.
New seating around the lakeside.
It looks like the whole area is just about completed apart from 1 or 2 bits and bobs, and should once again be a great place to spend some time whether it be a few hours or a whole day.
A big thanks to all involved in this project.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ourmillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southport Marine Lake also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Southport Marine Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing