We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch, smart atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Verve

Verve
Ranked #123 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
460 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great lunch, smart atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

There are not many really smart places that work from breakfast to evening but Verve does that. I tend to have lunch there and it has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and delivers great food. Nothing over complicated but it does the basics well and the service is excellent. It is a smart place to go with friends and family and the menu has sufficient range to suit all ages and all times of day. It is a pleasure to go back there on a regular basis.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    42
    17
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Made the mistake of getting a large round in,Looking at about £5-6 for a spirit and mix and £4 a pint,gets very busy during the weekend and is very much the place to be seen in Birkdale village.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVerve, Manager at Verve, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at Verve. We are somewhat bemused that you find our drink prices to be expensive. A single spirit with a mixer costs from £3.60 and draught lager costs from £3.10 a pint. We monitor the prices that our competitors charge on a regular basis to ensure that our prices are competitive and we feel that for the standard of the establishment that we are operating our prices are very reasonable. We only sell premium brands as analysis shows that is what our customers want and expect. There are establishments in the vicinity where I am sure that drinks can be purchased cheaper but, as you so rightly expressed in your review, Verve is very much the place to be seen in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat & drink !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had breakfast recently (althought rest of the menu is great!)!... It was fabulous! Lovely friendly staff makes it a delight to go into. Great place to meet & drink in the evening too !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“day and night great place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

great place to go with your friends for lunch, fab atmosphere although it was november and we were sat outside not cold at all thanks to all the outdoor heaters. great place to spend day and evening, best wine bar in town with stunning decor inside and outside. All the staff very welcoming even the bouncers. Definately a place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Verve has it all, well thought out layout, tasteful decor and fabulous food and drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is wonderful venue for many an occasion. My favourite being a few cocktails with the girls sat outside- but still warm. Lovely welcome from Elle, Russell and all the staff. If you're in Southport, it's well worth a visit, morning noon or night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verve also viewed

 
Birkdale, Southport
Birkdale, Southport
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Verve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing