We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Southport”
Review of Ho Lee Chow

Ho Lee Chow
Ranked #61 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Southport”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Love Ho Lee Chows! It's fair to say that Chinese restaurants can be pretty dodgy, but this one certainly isn't. It's really nice inside, the staff are super friendly and the food is delicious. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah_quinn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    35
    11
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Tripadvisor sometimes confuses me by providing reviews which say the establishment is in the resort, and then you find it is is actually 5 miles away! I nearly missed this one as the address was showing as Birkdale, when in actual fact it is half a mile from Lord street in Southport. Anyway, this is a great restaurant, nicely fitted out with a luxury feel and look, but not reflected in the prices which I thought were very reasonable. Excellent service, despite not booking on a Saturday evening, we only waited 5 minutes to get a table. Food is either classic or adventurous, depending on how you feel. We had Cantonese beef sizzler, which was fabulous, and a non adventurous chicken and black bean, large portions, no way could we finish the rice! Will certainly be back next time we are in the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and it never fails to impress. The selection and quality of the food is superb. The menu choice is extensive and the portion sizes are good. The staff are very friendly and make you feel as though you are someone special. A nice touch is the way that your table gets wiped down of crumbs after every course and that hand wipes are given out on three occasions through the banquet that we had. The last towels were hot. The price of the food is competitive, offering good value for money. If you're in Southport, it's well worth giving Ho Lee Chow a try, but it's best to pre-book as it gets very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were in Southport on holiday last week and visited the restaurant as my mum is coeliac and they have a Gluten Free menu. The staff were great (especially Warren who greeted us at the door) and could not do enough for us. My mum was delighted as she's not been able to eat Chinese food for the past 3 years. A really nice touch at the end for her was a gluten free chocolate biscuit to finish off the meal. The food was delicious and the complimentary fortune cookies and fresh fruit at the end of the meal was a lovely touch. We will most certainly return when we are back in Southport and if we had known sooner how good it was we would have dined there more in our five day holiday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LateFlight777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Welcomed by manager despite not booking, very attentive staff. Great menu and food presentation, great food. Lovely atmosphere and ambiance with good choice of background music. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ho Lee Chow also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Ho Lee Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing