We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed for 1 night in a superior lakeview room. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a mixture of old and new fixtures and fittings. Paul and trina were very welcoming and offered a great service. Breakfast was beautifully presented and very tasty. Would definately recommend this small hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
96
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel is conveniently located close to some wonderful golf courses. Also a short walk to the train station for easy access to Liverpool for great sightseeing. Would definitely recommend the Waterford. Paul, the owner, was very friendly and offered great advice on places to eat and sights to see.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEC5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed for a 3 days as it was close to Lord St and Conferance Centre, We agree with various reviews we have read, as it is ideal, with clean , comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Plenty of choice of restaurants on Lord St for evening meals.
Off road car parking in front of hotel makes this a no hassle 5 star B&B with such good service and hospitality from Paul and Tina.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NeiloCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were 4 golfers and returned in June 2011, a year after our first visit. Everything was just as good as before - the rooms, cleanliness, excellent breakfasts. Paul and Trina have everything just right. Impossible to fault. Great location for access to the best golf courses around Southport, and walking to many excellent pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

A good place if you want a base in Southport for a short stay in the area. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a mix of old and contemporary furnishings; would look even better with some minor updating of furniture.The en suite was immaculate with a pleasant seaside theme. The breakfast is very good served freshly cooked in a tastefully decorated dining room. The owners showed immediate wiling to accommodate our particular requests. There is a small bar area which is pleasant visually however noise from refrigeration behind the bar put us off drinking there so we had the drinks in our room. We received a surprise welcome gift in recognition of it being a special occasion mini break. Located at the end of the Southport sea front, this B&B offers a quiet and comfortable night's sleep. Our room (#2) had a sea view of sorts slightly obscured but pleasant nevertheless. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of shops, restaurants and the seafront. We requested and were given access to free wifi connection. We would therefore warmly recommend this B&B for its hospitality, delicious breakfast and good location.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed here for my partners birthday weekend. The couple that run the hotel are just lovely! Very helpful, very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The location is good as it is close to the bars and restaurants but far enough away to be quiet.

The room we stayed in needed updating, a lick of paint and some new bedding but overall didnt lack anything.

The best part of this whole stay was the breakfast. It was wonderful. You could have anything you wanted, and it was all beautifully presented. I ordered the fruit both mornings and it was like a work of art!

Overall, nice stay, lovely people and good breakfast. Updating of the rooms and it would be great!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBoyes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed for one night in a premium room.
Had a lovely welcome, tea, cake etc. Room was lovely with a view towards lake, very clean and spacious.
Breakfast was delicious, good choice, well presented and well cooked.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Property: Waterford Hotel
Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing