We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Really lovely place. The owner was really nice and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is from
8 and because he knew we were going up to the lakes after asked if we needed an earlier breakfast. The breakfast was really good and presented very well. We would definately go back if we visited Southport again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
95
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Trina & Paul take every trouble to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay at The Waterford Hotel. This starts with their warm welcome & continues with the way that they present themselves & equip their bedrooms (mine, at any rate) with Sony Flat Screen TVs & the bathrooms with Mira showers.

There are several restaurants within 10 minutes walk, the majority appearing to be Italian. I ate at the nearby Pizza Express, which was busy & served a satisfying meal.

Breakfast was beautifully cooked & presented leaving the guest feeling nicely set up for the day. I have to return to Southport soon & hope that I can make another booking at this excellently run hotel which offers real value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We feel so lucky to have found the Waterford for our frequent vists to Southport. The standard of rooms, linens, breakfast and especially the hosts, Trina and Paul, is second to none. They cant do enough for you to make your stay perfect. The setting just at the lake is stunning, with rooms facing it so spacious and comfy, its hard to leave.
Can't wait to return to this truly 'Excellent' hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are georgeous, but if you opt for a lake veiw, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendersSWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 1st visit to the Waterford hotel, Southport, Will return again for sure.
The hotel is situated adjacent to the promenade with excellent views across the Marine lake and along the promenade.A few minutes walk takes you to either the pier, or go the other way and you are on Lord street, for the shopping.
Paul & Trina are on hand to welcome you on arrival, and nothing seems to be to much bother for your stay.What a lovely couple. They seem to do all the various tasks themselves, and what a job they do make of it.
Where should I start?
Ok then, what about cleanliness? Absolutely spotless, no doubt about it.
Rooms ! lovely rooms , clean , well presented, ours had a bay window from which we could sit and watch the activities on the lake and along the promenade. Freeview tv. Fridge, hospitality tray which puts other hotels to shame, comfy beds. if you can find a fault you must be extra fussy!
Breakfast ! Well, again this couple go the extra mile or six to make sure all is well. All food is prepared fresh. Everything is very well presented from fruit plate to cooked breakfast, ommelette or the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. None of the usual buffet trash which is put out at the start and eventually removed. All fresh, as requested.We have stayed in large well known hotels and on cruise ships, but the breakfasts here are amazing. Leaves others standing.
Need local information , perhaps about where to visit, where to eat at night ? ask Paul or Trina, their knowledge is astounding.
1st visit! Would we go back again? I think that by reading the above comments you can guess the answer to that question. YES.
Thank you Paul & Trina, for all your hard work. Hope to see you again at some point.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ourmillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

As one of the 10 golf tourists with Mark K, I can back up his comments - the best B&B I have stayed in, couldn't fault it in any way and the hospitality from Paul &Trina completed the package.

I booked this hotel for our annual golf tour of 10 middle aged golfers based on Tripadvisor recommendations. Trina and Paul made us so welcome and the standard of the accommodation was first rate. Breakfasts were superb and the rooms spotless with excellent facilities. I cannot recommend their establishment too highly.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1 - excellent, and with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I booked this hotel for our annual golf tour of 10 middle aged golfers based on Tripadvisor recommendations. Trina and Paul made us so welcome and the standard of the accommodation was first rate. Breakfasts were superb and the rooms spotless with excellent facilities.

I cannot recommend their establishment too highly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front (1&2) were excellent. Spacious with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had a holiday from 14th April 2013 to 18th April 2013 The hotel is immaculate
The breakfast is made with real quality ingredients
Paul & Trina made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble
We have had many short holidays, this was honestly the best one ever
We would recommend The Waterford to anyone truly a five star experience
Will certainly be back
Thanks Paul & Trina
If you want a relaxing break in comfortable surroundings choose The Waterford

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Property: Waterford Hotel
Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing