We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Credit to the Owners”
Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our second stay - on both occasions for the wonderful Southport Flower Show. A great welcome, high standards, a roomy lake/sea view room, and exceptional breakfasts in a very pleasant breakfast room. Well placed for all of the Southport attractions.
Easy to recommend this place.

Room Tip: Personally I would pay the extra for the lake/sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cityhopper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having recently returned from a summer break in Southport, I would again wish to write a review. How lovely for us - my husband and I - to arrive again this year to spend a holiday with Paul & Trina Meyler at their guesthouse which occupies a perfect position near the Marine Lake.

This is our fifth vacation at The Waterford and each year we are so happy to be back. From the moment we arrive to be greeted by the warm welcome of Paul & Trina with tea and cakes, until our reluctant departure some 10 days later, they always make us so cared about as guests, that it is like “coming home”. Just nothing is too much trouble for these kind hosts.

Everything is spotless and the whole guesthouse most tastefully decorated. The bedrooms are very comfortable (as are the beds!!) and a lovely courtesy tray of tea coffee & hot chocolate with tasty biscuits to wake to or to enjoy when back from a great but tiring day!! is so welcome.

Oh and I haven’t mentioned the breakfasts!! A very wide choice - full English, omelettes, smoked salmon & scrambled egg amongst others, fruit, cereal etc etc all so delicious and presented in Trina's attractive and unusual way with little sprigs of herbs or a small flower on the plate. Paul ready for a little chat as we choose, and always ready to offer advice as to places to visit. or things to do - he is a fount of knowledge. Lovely dining room.

I could go on for a lot longer, but I trust I have given the flavour to make one wish to stay at this superb guesthouse. Once experienced, I’m sure you will wish to come back again and again (like us!!)

I should say too that when I was unwell during our stay last year, the concern and care from both Paul and Trina was second to none. Wonderful.

It really was so good to see this charming family once again and catch up with all our 'doings' over the past year.
beryn026

Room Tip: Hard to say really. The two large rooms overlooking the marine lake are splendid, but we have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beryn026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We picked the Waterford for our weekend stay as we were in Southport to watch the seniors golf open championship and we are so glad that we did.
The level of service was second to none and that little bit extra like the coffee or tea and cake on arrival made you feel so welcome.
The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had, bedrooms spotlessly clean and comfy.
I would highly recommend the Waterford to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in Southport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from yet another long weekend at the Waterford. We have been visiting this gem of a hotel for many years now, sometimes twice a year. The standards have been maintained over the years and indeed have improved in many areas. Paul and Trina have become like friends over the years but have maintained the balance between friendship and professionalism. We have stayed at some of the hotels run by some of the 'chains' - the difference is incredible - we just wish that Paul and Trina would open hotels in areas that we regularly visit. We endorse all the other positive and positively glowing comments by other guests.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The level of service and the little touches, like tea and coffee with a wide choice of nibbles in the room. The comfortable decor in the rooms. The wide choice for breakfast. The whole place was very clean. I would be very happy to recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muckyvonclucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely room with a view of the sea and a comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean with little touches like mini cheddars and chocolate wafers on the tea and coffee tray. A little fridge in the wardrobe with fresh milk.

We had the best breakfasts we have ever had with the most exquisite fruit plates, fluffy omelettes and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs that looked like a picture out of a cookery magazine and tasted divine.

The only reason I have marked down sleep quality slightly was because the room was very hot being at the top of the hotel and the weather was scorching. A fan was provided as soon as requested.

The proprietors couldn't be more helpful and friendly. This was real find.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are on the top floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollsTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with very high levels of comfort, care and consideration. Paul and Trina leave nothing to chance, checking every detail and paying attention to all your needs, even the ones you have not thought about yet. All done in a quiet, unobtrusive way.
The breakfast choice is exceptional, all made to order and served in the lovely, elegant breakfast room. We appreciated the bar when we returned in the evening (perhaps rather too much?)
We will definately stay here again, and will invent a reason to do so, if one does not present itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,291 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 22 in Southport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 22 in Southport
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 22 in Southport
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing