We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ever.”
Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best ever.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This family hotel is truly excellent. The hosts, Paul and Trina provide a service of the highest quality. They are welcoming and helpful, with a very professional approach to their work. We recommend this hotel unreservedly and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
99
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely B&B, lovely room, very good service from the very nice owners, reasonably priced, nice afternoon tea.
It's traditional - it's not new and trendy, but it's really nice quality throughout. It may be more suited to a quiet weekend away rather than anything raucous!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front (we had 6 I think) are nice. But basically, just ask for one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayaker_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been a few times to this Hotel, Its in a good location near the marine lake, everything in the room you need, refrigerator, tea and biscuits complimentary water, tea and coffee making facilities with comfortable beds, Paul and Trina who run the Hotel are excellent hosts and very welcoming, the breakfast is to die for, don't miss out on this lovely hotel and its owners. but book in good time or you may be disappointed,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLISHMAN ABROAD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting an event in the local area.

It is an elegant Victorian Villa on Leicester Street located just across the road from the Marine Lake and a five minute walk to the pier. Lord Street Boulevard is just at the other end of the street.The Hotel is impeccably maintained and our room with a view of the lake was spacious, clean, well furnished and extremely comfortable. Good size bed, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, complimentary water and really useful refrigerator. Good bathroom with over bath shower.

Paul and Trina Meyler are a delightful couple who made us feel very much at home. Breakfast is excellent with each course beautifully presented and fresh. I had the best omelette I have eaten for a long time.

Our experience was delightful, found Southport very interesting and would stay at the Waterford again.

Room Tip: We had room number 2 with good view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALFRED99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The next time you visit Southport I highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel.The location is perfect, the rooms are delightful and the owners are really nice.I slept well and had an excellent breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good walking proximity to town and good restaurants. I stayed here with my two sons. We found it exceptional. Its location is central to several great golf venues. The rooms were nicely furnished. Paul and his wife are welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this marvelous hotel.
What can I say about it apart from the heading ? This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in in the United Kingdom, and that includes most of the " big name hotels ".
If you are looking for friendly service from the resident owners , excellent food, super clean premises, in a lovely location, then look no further , it is here at the Waterford Hotel, Southport.
Many thanks to Trina & Paul, for making our return visit as excellent as our 1st visit. Hope to see you both again.

Room Tip: ask for the lake view rooms , they are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ourmillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Property: Waterford Hotel
Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing