We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

This is a lovely little hotel.The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.The beds are large and the linens are a delight.

Paul and his wife could not be more helpful.

You are only a ten minute drive from Royal Birkdale and a five minute stroll from Lord Street with its shops and restaurants.

The English breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the day.

I used to own and run a 5 star hotel-this place rings all the bells.

  • Liked — Its simple,straightforward high standard
  • Disliked — Small bathroom towels
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
96
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull, england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2007

Booked this hotel after reading reviews from other users.
Well impressed, Paul and Trina have spent a lot of time and money on the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble.
Clean & tidy rooms. Excellent location just 5 min walk to the centre of town.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul&girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

My Husband and I stayed at the WaterFord Hotel B&B, Southport Merseyside for four nights. Paul and Trina Meyler were excellent proprietors. They would go out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Great food and service. A very clean place also.

Hazel & Bob Sawers from Chilliwack,BC Canada

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2007

My husband and I look forward to our visits to Waterford Hotel every year for many years now and find it very homely. Food & accommodation excellent.Paul & Trina are a lovely couple making us feel so much at home every single time. I look forward to our next visit in August

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank garcia10Stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

Second time here with my parents (I am 28) and parents are retired. Went away for their Wedding Anniversary and I can not fault a thing. Paul (the owner) and his wife are VERY helpfull and tend to everything you require. The breakfast if FAB!!!! My room (room 2) had been revamped since last time (not that it needed it) and now has a big King Size bed (which I got lost in) and a plasma telly on the wall. Parents room had a sensational view (room 4) and an added bonus of a balcony. You also get mini fridges in your room, should you want to store any drinks. Best hotel in Southport!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything was excellent
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

This was our second visit to the Waterford and will not be our last.
It is so clean and well decorated. You are left to your own devices and privacy and the welcome received from Paul and Trina was like old friends meeting again.
This is without a doubt, the nicest, cleanest hotel we have ever had the pleasurs of staying at.

  • Liked — It was so clean and well furnished.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it ws all enjoyable.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank golidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

I am not used to staying in hotels on my own but the friendly and efficient reception put me at ease straight away. The friendly but not overbearing attitude pervaded the whole of my short stay. The furnishings, decor and cleanliness of my room and the public places was impressive and I never smelled a bad odour the whole time. I alwsays felt secure and welcome. The service provided was the best I could have hoped for and the tranquil layout of the dining room made breakfast a moment to enjoy.
Lilian Lawson

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank congenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Property: Waterford Hotel
Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing