We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was enjoyable”
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“This was enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful little park, variety of birds and small animals, well cut - green lawns, green house, gift shop, ice cream!, and small lake that you can walk beside. Flowers were in bloom, lots of lavender. Could be kept up a bit more, lake water was dirty, washrooms were sad, but if you enjoy a quiet park and a nice out door walk, this will suit your fancy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    154
    54
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A lovely quiet place away from the bustle of Southport. Only 10 mins by bus. Yes some of it is run down, but it is free! Toilets are basic but clean. Interesting fernery and some secret grottos which I am sure kids would love to explore. Unfortunately, I had the worst cup of coffee in the cafe I have experienced for many years, so my tip is not to buy there. Walk 5 mins back into Churchtown to Kim's tearoom which is a delight.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jahey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Peaceful pleasure”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely gardens able to feed the ducks n ducklings also having a small but exciting zoo to see a few peacocks and other birds guinea pigs also a big amazing domestic rabbit then able to a brisk walk around the beautiful gardens chillaxing in a cafe xx

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth Garden City
Level Contributor
331 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A pleasant park”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When we visited in June we found this to be a pleasant enough park but as there were a lot of trees there weren't many colourful flowers. The lake had a good number of ducks but it wasn't particularly well cared for. The museum was closed down and looked run down if not actually falling down. The toilets were grim.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive480077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Animals, plants and ice-cream. What more could you seriously need. A microscopic version of Chester Zoo jam packed with hundreds flocking to it's beautiful pheasants to glare.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing