We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metro
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Bold Hotel(Southport)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral Lodge Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baytrees Hotel(Southport)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Southport Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
The Talbot Hotel(Southport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
268
70
12
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
70
12
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgroupon deallovely beer gardenchurch car parkfunction roomlord streetnice bar arealovely hotelfull englishwedding receptionpleasant staynight staymy mumtown centretea and coffeevisiting southportlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

To celebrate my Wifes Birthday, her family travelling down from Scotland asked me to book a table for four at a local Restaurant in Southport as a surprise . I had heard from a number of people to try The Metro as it has recently had a refurbishment and that the new owners were very pleasant and the food was second to none. So i decided to pop in and book a table and even after a change of time the day before the meal, the owners were very kind and rebooked us another slot at short notice. The meal was excellent, ten out of ten, we all enjoyed what we had had, and the in-laws were very impressed, so please pass on our compliments to the chef.
The presentation and portions were great and wouldn't be out of place in a
top restaurant!!
We go up to Gleneagles every November to stay with family at Glenmore and eat out in the Strathfearn on site within the Gleneagles hotel and also at the restaurant run and owned by Michelin Chef Andrew Fairlie and we all agreed that the meal, service and presentation from
The Metro was on a par with any of these top restaurants. I am sure over time The Metro will continue to grow and be among the best in the area. I would certainly recommend The Metro to friends and colleagues and will definately re-visit in the none too distant future!
Thanks for a great meal!!
Peter, Rachael and family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyHolgate, Manager at The Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Wow - thank you so much for the review. We strive very hard to make sure that everything is perfect and ii is very encouraging for ourselves and the Staff to receive such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I must say, After hearing loads of talk from my friends about the metro, simply had to try it and wasn't disappointed, The decor was outstanding, the food was amazing. Everything about the metro was brilliant! You must simply go and try it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyHolgate, Manager at The Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you some much for you positive comments - it really spurs us on to be the best.
Look forward to your return visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Went to The Metro Bar for an early evening meal with my husband and two sons and was blown away by the decor (including some fabulous toilets!), the friendly staff and unbelievably amazing food. Between us we ordered Steak, Sausage and Mash and Thai Green Curry and Rice. All dishes were beautifully presented, the attention to detail second to non with the taste was out of this world. All dishes were very reasonably priced which is an added bonus. If you haven't been before, I would totally recommend - give it a visit this w/e!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Aisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyHolgate, Manager at The Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for you're great comments. We have introduced a lunch time two course menu for £9.95 - Monday through to Saturday (for those who work full time)
- come and try it, I'm sure you'll be delighted with the choice and standard of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Recently ate at the Metro Hotel and Bar. They have done a fantastic job of upgrading restaurant and bar. The food was well presented and tasty. Maybe a lunch special and afternoon tea would go down well with visitors to Southport.

Lovely seating area outside and all clean area's and tidy.

Room Tip: Did not view the rooms only ate at the Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaboutcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyHolgate, Manager at The Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review - we've taken your comments on board and now offer a two course lunch special for £9.95 - come and try it - I'm sure you'll be delighted with the choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Certainly not a disappointment - I have been to the Metro a number of times since it opened both for lunch and dinner, on all occasions the service has been wonderful, the staff friendly, approachable and the food has been divine! I'd personally recommend the puddings, home-made ice cream of all varieties, the coconut is just amazing. The house wine is pretty good too! Hopefully the Hotel rooms when they open will be just as great as the rest of the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Anon990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyHolgate, Manager at The Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review, we take them all very personally - as do the Staff so it;'s really encouraging to know we're on the right tracks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews