We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”
Review of The Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Metro
Ranked #11 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Fantastic little hotel situated within very easy walking distance of the centre of Southport and the seafront. The service was excellent throughout and the food in the restaurant was superb - beautifully presented and cooked fresh to order.

The whole hotel is immaculately presented. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules6746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    61
    11
    7
    12
See reviews for
55
160
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just had a short break in southport at this hotel, it could not have been better if it had been a five star rating. The rooms were beautifully appointed and decorated. The food was outstanding and on a par with, if not better than, some of the more illustrious hotels that we have stayed in. The staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visit the Metropole frequently with our children, we have always found Leslie and Martin and all members of staff extremely friendly, and accommodating towards us all, which is why we return time and time again.
The surroundings are beautiful and the food is by far the best in Southport. They have a unique combination of style along with a very warm and comfortable atmosphere. I would highly recommend anyone to visit the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at The Metro due to a wedding being held in Southport. Booked after readings reviews nd they were not wrong. From the minute we arrived the staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The room was lovely and was beautifully decorated with lovely bedding. The bathroom was spotless with white fluffy towels. The bar at the hotel had a good atmosphere and plenty of outdoor seating with lovely water feature in the front of the hotel. Ate in the restaurant on one night only and we were not disappointed. The meals were exceptionally good and really good value for money. The complimentary sorbet was gorgeous. Breakfast was either continental or a full English. My husband chose the full English which was cooked to order and he said it was delicious. If ever again in Southport would definitely look forward to booking this hotel. A credit to the owners. I have clicked the fitness centre and swimming pool as terrible by mistake as these facilities were not available please ignore score.
H

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was lovely to hear the water feature in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieNYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Beautifully presented hotel, can't fault this hotel in any way. Very clean, décor superb throughout.
The staff in the hotel were brilliant and to top all that fantastic food !
Would recommend this hotel to everyone, only problem is that we would might not get in next time :))

Room Tip: Does not matter, they are all good ! (Had a sneaky look)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have only ever given positive reviews on tripadviser however Have given this poor review due to
1)Poor quality of food
2)Extremely poor attitude of the lady manager/owner who went out of her way to make sure our meal there was as uncomfortable as possible.Despite the restaurant being completely empty apart from us(we went out early as to not disturb other people 4.30)we were told we had to move out of restaurant into the bar area due to the our 2 yr old being too noisy and not under control.This was untrue and this place has very little tolerance .We have been welcomed at many other excellent restaurants in Southport were the food is good.Dont waste your time here its not enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank browskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went with friends and 2 children who were playing nicely there were no other people in the restaurant but we were told to move, this is after being told we were best coming inside because the owner would not shut the side gate onto main road because it looked bad for business. Staff were friendly but the owner was very rude and food was below average. Not a child friendly place at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CSkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro

Property: The Metro
Address: 3 Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away at the trendy corner of King Street and Portland Street, just a stone’s throw from Lord Street, is Southport’s newest and most stylish place to eat, drink and sleep. Our Staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. First class service in superb surroundings, combined with outstanding food, is of the upmost importance to us. Whether you visit us for a drink, for dinner or to stay in the hotel, our aim is to WOW you. Visit The Metro to experience it for yourself, we promise you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing