We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Talbot Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosedale Hotel(Southport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
268
69
12
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
69
12
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgroupon deallovely beer gardenchurch car parkfunction roomlord streetnice bar arealovely hotelfull englishwedding receptionpleasant staynight staymy mumtown centretea and coffeevisiting southportlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just spent two days at The Metro and were really pleased with everything. The hotel rooms were excellent, very tastefully decorated with no expense spared as was the bar and dining room areas. We had afternoon tea and evening meal followed by breakfast in the morning each of which was spot on. As a party of six none of us had any complaints. The management went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we will look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brian201160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our room was fantastic; modern and sleek yet comfortable. We used all the teabags in our room and asked a staff member for a couple more, he couldn't have been more helpful - darted downstairs and reappeared quickly with teabags, coffee sachets and fresh shortbread biscuits. The outdoor garden is stunning and we felt at ease in our casual clothes (some places make you feel under-dressed!) We had some lovely tempura prawns in avocado dip and some warm bread with hummus and olives - the portion sizes were generous and the food was lovely and just what we needed as we sipped our wine by the fish pond. Would recommend this hotel to absolutely anybody staying in Southport and I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the metro last night after a spa day via a Groupon deal, As we walked past we commented what a nice hotel it looked with a lovely beer garden and fish Pond. We were pleased to find that that was out hotel for the night. As we arrived the gentleman on reception couldn't be more helpful,checking us in straight away and fetching us more towels as we had got soaked walking to the hotel. The rooms were spotless and modern. Although we didn't eat there the food coming out of the kitchen looked delicious. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice two night stay. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Lord Street and the shops which are only 2 minutes walk. Tastefully decorated throughout and rooms very light ,airy and completely spotless. The hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The only negative thing was that the bed , a king made out of two singles ( as is the norm) could do with new mattresses as there was rather a ridge where they joined. However I informed the manageress and am sure they will remedy this now they know.
Would certainly stay again if staying in the area.

Room Tip: All the room I saw looked of a high standard. Had a room facing the pub opposite and the street but noise was not a problem
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I booked this on the last minute for my dads 80th birthday, amanda was so helpfull and friendly an asset to the hotel , the staff gave my dad a birthday card , unexpected but made him feel special, my mum has dietry needs and they accomodated her no problem, room was clean and adequate and had tea making facilities, they thoroughly enjoyed their stay and would definately go back. thank you so much Amanda . Love Cheryl

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews