We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, always great fun!”
Review of Silcock's Funland

Silcock's Funland
Ranked #12 of 34 things to do in Southport
Attraction details
manchester
Level Contributor
195 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent place, always great fun!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Silcock arcades are the best ones in Southport without a doubt. I've been coming to these for years and they never disappoint in terms of both fun and of cleanliness/maintenance. The staff are always great too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    78
    59
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A real rip-off!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have to say that this is the worst amusement arcade I have ever been to. It was very difficult to win anything even when it is only luck and not skill - all the 2p machines appeared to be heavily weighted or glued. We only went in for a bit of fun and spent a couple of pounds each however it was hard to win anything. When we did have a win - you didn't win any money you just won tickets which were redeemable for small, cheap tacky prizes - and you had to win loads of tickets just to get the smallest prize. There was a place for tea and coffee which was cheap. There looked like a big fish and chip shop next door which looked bright and airy but was closed. I don't normally give poor reviews but I feel moved to write about this - I would not recommend this attraction - especially if you have kids as it will cost you a fortune and you will have to manage their disappointment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Typical seaside amusement arcade”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Arcade - okay. Nothing any different from any other seaside arcade. Good variation of machines, and a children's ride at the front was appreciated by my 6 year old. Staff were helpful when money jammed in one of the grab machines, although, as per normal, we won nothing in these machines as the 'grabber' just seemed too big to hold anything......funny that!

There is a cafe, which we didn't use, so can't comment. There are customer toilets, but when my husband went to use them found he had to pay 20p, and also came across another gentleman stuck on the other side of the barrier trying to get out! Needless to say, my husband refused to pay 20p to spend a penny, particularly when we had spent the best part of £10 in the arcade and instead used the facilities in the bowling alley down the road!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Toddler days out!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

It is as to be expected really noisy and flashing lights everywhere.
Its a very tightly packed place so big prams like mine would struggle..
Limited seating so be prepared to stand about a lot..
Slot machines, arcade games and a cafe I would and will never visit looks dismal!! The chip shop next door is worth a visit though..
Would I visit again?? If I had to!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mishelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Funland is your typical slot arcade/ fast food venue. Staff seemed friendly enough, although perhaps a bit bored looking. Nothing of note on the pier apart from a smaller slot arcade at the end. The walk along the pier is probably the best part , if the walk is too much, there is a tram ride there and back. The carousel opposite the entrance looks beautiful.
This is perhaps some peoples ideal place, each to their own I suppose.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ourmillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silcock's Funland also viewed

 

Been to Silcock's Funland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing