We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy tripper”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Flat 5

Sandcroft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandcroft
Sandcroft Gardens Flat 5 Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Sandcroft
Sandcroft Gardens
Flat 5 Living Room
Flat 5 bedroom
Flat 5 Dining area
Flat 5 Shower room
Flat 5 Ktichen
Sandcroft landing
Churchtown
Southport Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Southport, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This terrible attic space should NEVER be advertised as a Holiday Apartment!!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Having rented apartments and villas throughout Europe we have never had to use £1.00 coins to operate the electricity.
When Pamela was leading us up the flights of stairs to room 5 we were horribly aware of a stale odour that permeated the accommodation and then became sickening when we entered the tiny attic space of our rental.
By no stretch of the imagination could this space be considered a Holiday Let!
Pamela ( the owner) was well aware when she showed us to our pre-paid room that it was totally unfit for purpose. Her manner was apologetic and she was embarrassed.
Carpets: filthy, stained, old, we kept our shoes on as they provided a barrier between the flooring and our clean feet!
Furnishings: 2 utilitarian, wooden-armed chairs, threadbare and greasy were provided for viewing the TV in the minuscule living room. A double bed was crammed into a tiny sloping attic space that two people couldn't have entered side by side. A small skylight window was positioned directly above the pillow area. A post-war free-standing single wardrobe separated the kitchenette from the living space and was the only storage for clothes and the suitcases!
The microwave was the only newish piece of equipment in the whole place. The stale stench in "flat" 5 made cooking or eating food impossible for us.
The entire "flat" needs gutting, and completely remodelling...to call this let "TIRED" is an understatement, and describing the bathroom an "en- unite" elevates it to a level that in reality is laughable were it not so depressingly disgraceful.
Under no circumstances could we have stayed there. After a frantic search for alternative accommodation we informed Pamela that we were not prepared to live in such a squalid space for even one night and asked for her to meet us half-way. She wrote a chq out for £87.00 which meant that I had paid £100.00 to both her and Holiday Lets for the displeasure,
Inconvenience and stress ( after driving for 5 hours) that booking this flat had caused us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely nothing!
Liked least: Where do I start!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
I am so sorry that you didn't like the flat. I realised that you were unhappy and felt for you. Your partner rang me and asked if if we could split the bill which I did. You had obviously not read the details which does include many of the details you have described. Again I am sorry but not everyone thinks as you do. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gummy22
Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy tripper”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great place top floor unit very clean peacful overseas visitors are give towels coffee tea breakfast jams Free wifi all the time
Very handy to walk to everything owners very nice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How handy it was to everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieP51
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very comfortable and accommodating”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful week here in flat 5 . Close to all ameneties. We caught the train to Liverpool 4 days in a row and it was all so easy.
Great welcome and nothing too much bother at all. Flat is clean and very very comfortable for 2.
Will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and the views
Liked least: there was nothing not to like at all - very very comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueSouth...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, neat just nice size flat for two. Nothing was too much trouble, helped my luggage and made sure I had all I needed. Provided put-you-up bed for extra guest for a couple of nights. Felt very welcome.
Nice and quiet but very handy for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very welcoming but gave me privacy.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry S
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation for two”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A great little comfortable flat built into the roof space of the property. Separate dining space and lounge both with sea views. Excellent location within walking distance of Southport. Also visited Port Sunlight and Liverpool Docks. A excellent location for a very varied and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner on site to greet us
Liked least: No where to stand my shampoo up in the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing