We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Rice

Thai Rice
Ranked #5 of 352 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

One of the best meals I`ve ever had in Southport ! Ordered the Set menu A. Starters were tasty but nothing out the ordinary, but wow the mains were fantastic, green curry chicken, goong pad med mamaung, sweet & sour chicken and fragrant jasmine rice. All meals were delicious and cooked well, packed with all kinds of fresh veg , succulent meat and prawns and just the right amount of spice. Nothing was greasy neither, unlike most Chinese meals I`ve had locally.
I highly recommend the Thai Rice restaurant and can`t wait to take family & friends very soon, as we haven`t stopped raving about it since our visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Grimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    80
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Phoenix from the Flame”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Me and the Missus stumbled across the Thai Rice last night by a pleasant accident. On the way to pick her up from work the taxi driver mentioned he'd been to a new Thai restaurant that had just opened on Bold st/ Bath street so we thought we'd try it out.

Thai Rice is in the same location as the old Thai Flame, but its a completely different experience. The new Thai owners have obviously invested a good deal of time and money in beautifully renovating the place and its really smart and clean.

The menu has all the classic Thai standards and includes a number of really good value banquets. We chose a banquet between the 2 of us and both the starters and the mains were absolutely fantastic. Every dish was so fresh , full of flavour and presented so beautifully. To top this the service was 5*, with helpful suggestions on what to choose and what went best with what. When the bill came it was great value for the amount of food and drink we'd had.

Southport has been lacking a Thai restaurant for so long and now we have one of the best I've ever been too. We'll be back soon. I wish the new owners every success and hope they are here for many years to come. Great start to a new year and thanks for investing in the Town..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank LilBeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“'Fantastic'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I had heard very good reports about this restaurant, and I really love my oriental food so I couldn't wait to try it.
There was 4 of us that went and the first thing I noticed was how lovely and relaxed it was. The service was fantastic and the staff were very attentive.
There was a wide variety of food choice off the a la carte menu and the prices were very reasonable. The presentation of the food was lovely and each of our dishes were unique in there own way and tasted fantastic!
I couldn't pick a fault with the evening and I would definetly return again.
Thank you to everyone at The Thai Rice, we had a lovely meal and we will see you soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank joyceuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best, most authentic Asian food in Southport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I am a huge fan of Thai food (having spent several years living in Asia and working in Asian restaurants) so I was quite eager to try out the newly opened "Thai Rice". I stopped by for a snack last night and was absolutely delighted with their DIM SUM. Each dumpling was very large and flavoured with a delicious blend of spices, served with a homemade sauce. Ingredients were fresh and the rest of the menu looks fantastic as well (not to mention affordable!)

They have just redone the entire place and it looks beautiful inside. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. A place I would definitely recommend (and will be a very regular patron of myself)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Rice also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Thai Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing