We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried takeout, good grub. Heard good reviews of restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Rice

Thai Rice
Ranked #5 of 352 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried takeout, good grub. Heard good reviews of restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Ordered takeout from here tonight as a party, were given a complimentary bottle of wine which was lovely touch. My parents been to the restaurant several times now and rave about it, the good was very good, particularly the prawn green curry my Pop had and a prawn-patty type starter. Looking forward to trying the restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorClanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    80
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have been to this restaurant a few times now and finally gotten around to writing a review. This restaurant deserves top marks. The food is amazing. I would especially recommend the mixed shared starters. They always give us an extra dish to share, usually something I would never order such as fish curry, but then I want to order that next time! The desserts are lovely, not the usual frozen ones you would often get in thai restaurants. The green pancakes and fried ice-cream stand out for me. And to top it off, the service is excellent. The staff go out of their way to make things easier for us and to create a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

4 of us went for lunch, we had the special lunch time menu. The food was nice and the service was good, the décor was a little plain and needs freshening up little but all in all for what we paid it was good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've visited Thai Rice twice for lunch in the last couple of months with my Mum. 1st impression from the outside wasn't the best but once inside, the décor is modern and clean. Both times we went for the lunch menu, such brilliant value and you don't get small portions! The food is very tasty, plenty of meat and the service is second to none. Its definitely the restaurant to try when in Southport!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday night fever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went on a Sat night. We were not disappointed as the food was fantastic. The flavours of all the dishes was impressive and we couldn't finish it all. Staff were courteous and friendly but not over bearing. Beer was cold. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lachlan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Rice also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Thai Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing