We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and fabulous food”
Review of Straits Kitchen

Straits Kitchen
Ranked #98 of 362 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: An exclusive Japanese Oriental fusion using natural ingredients without artificial additives such as MSG. Our signature are Sushi, Oriental salads, Yakisoba noodles, boneless pork steak ribs and our unique desserts.
Restaurant details
Description: An exclusive Japanese Oriental fusion using natural ingredients without artificial additives such as MSG. Our signature are Sushi, Oriental salads, Yakisoba noodles, boneless pork steak ribs and our unique desserts.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Healthy and fabulous food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have been coming to this Takeaway for years. It was difficult when they closed for a nine month refurbishment, a few years back. During this time, they opened another establishment in Manchester. They don't use MSG and the food is simply outstanding.

They are expensive, but the quality of the food ingredients and the way it is prepared, more than accounts for the expense. If you are a Chinese food lover, please give this place a try. You are best ringing through your order or go online to order, to get your time slot at weekends, or you can wait 4 hours, yes, four hours for your meal !!

May I suggest you look online at the Menu. This establishment wouldn't look out of place, in a list of the top eateries in the Country.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great tasting food without high levels of salt, sugar and fat. Meat is meat and the sauces perfect! Keep up the good work. Thank you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KernowLanzaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Best in Southport. Sadly they don't deliver, but it's well worth the trip.
They don't use loads of additives or msg, so the food isn't all gloopy and salty! We have never had a bad meal from here, and the staff are just lovely.
If you haven't tried Straits before, give it a go; I can't recommend it enough :-)

Helpful?
Thank sandgrounderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much better than any other Chinese take-away!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I have visited SK many times & each time wonder how this little gem ended up hidden away.
The food is so different to any other Chinese take-away I have ever had. Light, lean meat & tasty. I would recommend some of the Dim Sum dishes as outstanding. This little gem is worth a detour!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Really good takeaway, restaurant quality food to have in the comfort of your own home. Good portion sizes and the ribs were fantastic and de-boned for you =) fab fab fab! Make sure to place your order well in advance because it's so popular! We had a 25 mile round trip journey and it was well worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliAnne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straits Kitchen also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Straits Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing