We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chippy with good service”

The Sandgrounder Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good chippy with good service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Food was great, fresh and tasty, service non fussy and prompt. The only issue I could see was that a family wanted to dine in and they wouldn't allow the pram upstairs. So if you do visit with a pram expect to be asked to leave it downstairs as the upstairs restaurant is small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a day pottering round Southport with my daughter and suggested lunch here as she hadn't been since she was young.
Went upstairs to the cafe, it was to cold to sit out with chips. Food was as good as we remembered only difference was my daughter ordered a pot of tea instead of juice :), décor has been updated and the staff are as lovely as ever!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Been coming here for the past eight years. Never been disappointed. Quality fish, make sure your hungry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick! Good value!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I were out in the town for the fireworks, even though in was very busy they still performed fantasticly!!! Very good overall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank critic2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Good restaurant, very clean, staff are pleasant and welcoming food is excellent and I highly recommend this chip shop to anyone !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sandgrounder Restaurant also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Sandgrounder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing