We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacqui Dankworth at The Atkinson”
Review of The Atkinson

The Atkinson
Ranked #1 of 2 Museums in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Love theatre, film, music, comedy and exhibitions? Then you'll love The Atkinson. The museum Between Land and Sea: 10,000 years of Sefton's Coast with the permanent exhibition Discover Ancient Egypt featuring The Goodison Collection means Sefton finally has a place to share its history. With Children's theatre, some of the biggest names in comedy, music and art The Atkinson really is a cultural pick 'n' mix for all the family. The Atkinson is a focal point for the town centre. Set in a grade II listed building in the centre of Lord Street in Southport. The Atkinson is managed and run by Sefton Council.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Jacqui Dankworth at The Atkinson”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Venue greatly improved in last two years, really smart now, a credit to Sefton Council.
The Atkinson now needs to continue to book good acts, publicise them effectively, and draw good audiences.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tudort246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Atkinson, Public Relations Manager at The Atkinson, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your review and for your continued support. Hope to see you at one of our shows again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    138
    31
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pirate Gran at The Atkinson”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great afternoon out with the family, Pirate Gran was an excellent stage show that kept my 3 year old enthralled. Great venue - The Atkinson has been beautifully restored and updated, great facilities but retained lovely original features.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Atkinson, Public Relations Manager at The Atkinson, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“library”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I liked the free library and toilet facilities as I needed to go on computers to use the internet and find my way around southport and toilets are always useful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeanette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive cakes and rather dry”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location is rather nice, inside the new Atkinson Gallery but we were very disappointed by the cakes. At £3 per cake I would have expected them to be fresh!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Bakery lunch, my fave in Southport !”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I love the chilled out almost boho feel to The Bakery at the Atkinson. People seem relaxed on their own reading. I love the mocha, best in town ! My fave lunch is the pies with salad. Good selection of cakes and other drinks. Fab !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lou1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Atkinson, Public Relations Manager at The Atkinson, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your review. Your comments will be passed onto the Bakery team. Have you tried the millionaires shortbread? Yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Atkinson also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing