We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop a while and reflect”
Review of The Atkinson

The Atkinson
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Love theatre, film, music, comedy and exhibitions? Then you'll love The Atkinson. The museum Between Land and Sea: 10,000 years of Sefton's Coast with the permanent exhibition Discover Ancient Egypt featuring The Goodison Collection means Sefton finally has a place to share its history. With Children's theatre, some of the biggest names in comedy, music and art The Atkinson really is a cultural pick 'n' mix for all the family. The Atkinson is a focal point for the town centre. Set in a grade II listed building in the centre of Lord Street in Southport. The Atkinson is managed and run by Sefton Council. Please check our website for full opening hours. We are only open on Sunday during Sefton School Holidays.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stop a while and reflect”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Atkinson theatre, public library and gallery reopen last year after a three year refurbishment, and well worthwhile it was. The whole building now seems more spacious. light and clean. Although the museum has yet to be completed there is still plenty to see and enjoy from the shop and a very helpful tourist information centre, to the gallery.

I called in the other day to have a look at what had been done and ended up staying an hour wandering around the exhibition entitled 'Walk On'. It was a collection of artists' interpretations of things they had seen while walking and the maps they had used. At the same time it was quirky and fascinating. Probably not to everyone's taste, it did however make me thing about an everyday activity and how much we miss hurrying form one job or place to the next.

The exhibition is not permanent and I look forward to the next one as wewll as to the opening of the museum.

There is an extensive programme of music, drama, and dance in the theatre, so if you are in Southport and want to visit, you can to find out more on the website.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank reluctanttravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Atkinson, Public Relations Manager at The Atkinson, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for your review. Indeed a number of new exhibitions are opening this Saturday (23 August) The Egyptology Gallery opens Friday 24 October with the new museum set to open in 2015. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    150
    33
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broughty Ferry Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Newly refurbished and a good little theatre. Would like to think that at other times it is not only amateur shows on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCM1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool gallery spaces”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was my first visit to the Atkinson for the current 'Walk On' exhibition. As it was a hot day most people were enjoying the sunshine so the gallery was a quiet and cool space. The staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed lunch in the Bakery cafe before visiting the exhibition. I found it fascinating and very well curated and the galleries flow nicely into each other. I particularly enjoyed the 'Guards' film by Francis Alys and Tracy Hanna's 'Hill Walker' video projection. The book which accompanies the exhibition is also excellent, giving some insight into the creative minds whose work is on display here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far too loud”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I thought Library's were meant to be quiet places, boy was I wrong. The staff talking very loudly, kids screaming, people having very loud conversations, alarms going off. I suffer with my hearing so I find loud noises very uncomfortable. I often like to sit at a computer and do some writing, this just impossible in this library. There should be a time when it should be quiet for a few hours but its never quiet. overall a horrible place to visit, I suffer with tinnitus and this library makes it worse. They don't care about library users in the library as they don't do anything to even try to keep it quiet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice indoor area”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great for a rainy day with a nice café and some unusual shops in the arcade at the back of it. Tourist information also available here. Free toilets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denoruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Atkinson also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing