We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away food terrible”
Review of Cathay Garden

Cathay Garden
Ranked #74 of 370 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After reading rave reviews on here and family members recommending, we thought we would try it out. Service was excellent but it went downhill from there... Chips are soggy oven chips, prawn crackers not fresh, fried rice doesn't taste fresh... Worst of all, our main meal choice ( crispy shredded beef is low on flavour and chewy as hell... At a total cost of £24 I wish we hadn't bothered!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Southportrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To Southportrev,

Im sorry to hear about your bad experience at Cathay Garden. The crispy dishes are freshly deep fried. The chips and beef strips should be crunchy and this should have been highlighted to a member of staff.

Even for our takeaway, we stop crispy foods from becoming soft by letting parts of dishes air using a loose paper bag around the take-away container.

If there are any problems, please highlight the issues to Christine and she will resolve the matters in the future.

Thanks

Staff at Cathay Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We decided to go out for a meal on a Monday night and plumped for Cathay Garden as we have been meaning to try it again since it reopened - and we were thrilled with our choice. We were made welcome and shown to our seats straight away - we were the only people in, but we didn't feel uncomfortable. We ordered the Taster Menu for £10.90 which included soup, ribs, chicken, spring roll and a choice of three mains from a long list, and fried rice. It was all served quickly and piping hot. The small portions of mains were lovely and really have made us want to go back ASAP for a banquet. We had a lovely evening with excellent food, it is situated at one end of Lord Street and doesn't get much passing trade, but this restaurant really is too good to pass up - definitely the best Chinese restaurant in Southport and deserves more custom - we will most certainly become regulars from now on.

1  Thank Billyinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To Billyinda,

Thank you for your time in writing such a nice review for Cathay Garden.

The taster menu at £10.90 per head are designed to be small so that you can taste a few dishes rather than having the same favourite dish.

Thank you for such kind words and the recommendations to your friends.


Hope to see you again soon

Staff at Cathay Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely meal..
Been to all the Chinese restaurants in southport and by far the best service, menu, atmosphere, food and value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Heleana92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To Heleana92,

Thank you for your time in writing the review. Thank you also for rating us as the best chinese restaurant also.

We try hard in making the experience enjoyable and I am glad you had a lovely evening,

Hope to see you again soon,

Staff at Cathay Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thank-you to Christina and her staff for making our dad`s 90th birthday celebration a success !!
We were a party of 19 and all had the £20.00 per head banquet, which everybody enjoyed.All the meals were really tasty and you could tell they were cooked using fresh produce.
The Restaurant is lovely inside with a separate area where you can sit and chat over a drink after your meal.
Free off street parking is available outside the Restaurant which is useful when in a town centre !
Thank-you also to Christina for opening early on the Sunday so we could have our meal in the afternoon as the Restaurant would not normally open until the evening.
The staff are really attentative, especially Christina who looked after our elderly mum. Thanks again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To Chris A,

Thank you for your time in writing such a long review! I am glad it was a great success for such a massive occasion. Christine and I are so happy you chose us to be the venue for the very special day.

Sorry we couldn't offer you more on-site parking. We are flexible and try endeavour to meet the customers requirements.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again,

Staff at Cathay Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I have been here quite a lot , by ourselves and with friends and every time we are greeted by all the staff it is a pleasure to eat here . The food is great and the service second to none . We were there on the 22 march my husbands birthday and all the staff came to wish him a happy birthday . Thank you all look forward to seeing you all again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 191255Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To 191255Lynn,

Thank you for writing such a positive review. I am glad you had a wonderful evening and hope your husband had a great birthday.

Thanks again, hope to see you soon.

Staff at Cathay Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathay Garden also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Cathay Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing