We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, reasonably authentic food”
Review of Cathay Garden

Cathay Garden
Ranked #52 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good quality, reasonably authentic food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visiting from Hong Kong, we did not necessarily expect an "authentic" Chinese restaurant, and indeed the menu includes dishes that have clearly been added for the local market (chips for example). However the menu is very extensive and does include "authentic" dishes that stand up well against restaurants in Hong Kong and China. We mainly ordered from the vegetarian menu as one of our party was a vegetarian and the Salt and Pepper Tofu was a particular favourite. Very good service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mc852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
To mc852,

Thank you for the lovely review for Cathay Garden. We endeavour to provide excellent customer service and spectacular dishes.

We try to keep dishes as authentic as possible but we do change some things due to cultural differences. In Hong Kong and China, all parts of the animals are used but at Cathay Garden we do not use some parts for example like the chicken head, neck or chicken feet which are a delicacy in the Far East!!! and we serve chips, simply due to high demand of customers.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in China and Hong Kong and we hope to see you again soon, also let us know about your trip, as we like to hear about customers' experiences!

Thank you

Sincerely,
Staff at Cathay Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    22
    7
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

well presented good value food.Best Chinese meal we have had in a long time,service excellent would highly recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
To alan s,

Thank you for spending time in writing a lovely review. Please recommend us to your family and friends.

Hope to see you again soon,

Staff at Cathay Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Have eaten in and had a take away from here several times and the food has always been lovely.

Visited last night with friends and we all really enjoyed our meals. The presentation of food is excellent and all our courses were fresh and tasty. You can tell they use quality produce - no fat at all on the meat and lovely fresh vegetables.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff, the service was great. Can't wait to come back soon!

Helpful?
2 Thank 1484kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
To 1484kathryn,

Thank you for taking your time in writing a review for Cathay Garden. I am delighted to know that you are a regular and you thoroughly enjoyed your evening at Cathay Garden.

I will pass on the lovely messages to the staff, we hope to see you again.

Once again, thank you.

Staff at Cathay Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This is a place to try”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went with a group of friends we all loved it they do a taster meal it was really good value and when they served it piping hot and tasty we will all be going back soon they deserve to be busy all the time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
To 464Maggie,

Thank you for your time to leave a lovely review. Christine strides to ensure customers have a wonderful evening and we try very hard in making the evening as enjoyable as possible.

Once again, THANK YOU for the lovely comments. I have passed on your kind words to all the staff and I hope we will see you again soon. My mum has been at the restaurant management for over 40 years and thrives on serving her customers at the restaurant.

The positive feedback make it worthwhile at the end.

Staff at Cathay Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My other half had fond memories of this place from years ago so we visited a few weeks ago. We were not disappointed. The food was beautifuly presented and utterly delicious. We loved it so much, we went back the following week for more.

Well worth the drive down to Southport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathayGarden, Public Relations Manager at Cathay Garden, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
To Beverley_Young,

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. I have passed on the comments to all the staff and the kitchen staff are delighted that their hard work in decorating the dishes have been appreciated.

The comments really do mean a lot to Christine and her staff, who strive to ensure all customers have an enjoyable experience.


Once again, thank you for your comments.

Staff at Cathay Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathay Garden also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Cathay Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing