We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service needs addressing”

Embassy Restaurant & Take Away
Ranked #280 of 359 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: US$5 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: The Embassy is Southport longest established fish & chip restaurant and is located on Nevill St next to Southport's famous Lord Street.Its open daily serving traditional Fish & Chips and a variety of everybody's seaside favourites as well as light snacks and drinks.The Embassy offers lunch time specials and can cater for parties all year round.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Customer service needs addressing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Have been here a few times. The cutlery needs to be addressed it's not up to my standard....I expect Not to have to sift through to find a clean knife and fork, not altogether happy with the sweeping and moping going on around me whilst I'm eating either. Also when we came in to the restaurant and sat down we were told not to sit on at that table because they had already cleaned there!! That's happened EVERY time we go to this place, yet when others have walked in after us....yep you guessed it!! They made for that very table and nothing was said!! Is it our faces? Maybe we just won't bother with this place again as there are after all a lot of other places to choose from to eat!!......and write reviews on. The thing is the food is pretty good they just need to sort out their attitude to paying customers after all it's us who puts the bread and butter on their table!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Babs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    9
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok food - service not included”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

As the title suggests, the food was ok but be prepared to serve yourself. To elaborate, myself and friends visited on a quiet Friday lunch time and each ordered fish and chips to eat in with a cup of tea. Five minutes after sitting down were called from the counter and told the tea was ready for collection. Another five minutes passed and we were told to come and collect our own food and the allocated one slice of bread per person. A strange approach to dine in service - definitely no frills. With no rush on or other customers to serve it doesn't hurt to take the 8 steps to deliver a meal to a table.

Opt for your meal to be served in paper if you visit, the service is more likely to meet your expectations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdamSYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

An immaculate and spacious restaurant. Meal was excellent as was the service. Everything cooked fresh and didn´t have to wait long for meal. Great value for money. Would definitely visit again. 29/06/2014

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthiahill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The price was right.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The tap water may have been "Undrinkable" as the lady on the till told us when I asked for two glasses of it on a VERY hot day,BUT because we had a voucher,we visited and had fish chips and peas.A BUSY setting.Curious way of serving food in the cafe section.You order at the counter,get your drinks,Food is cooked to order,then they call your food order number and you have to go back to the counter to collect it.Im not sure I like that bit of our visit.The food was EXCELLENT.A Yummy very good chips and peas.It is a nice cafe,bright,clean and busy.GREAT value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“good food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we was in Southporth and had lunch at the embassy the staff greeted us with open arm's we did not have to wait long before being served the food was great and all the staff was good we will call again thanks to all the staff and will see you again soon Thanks
01/06/2014

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alf s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embassy Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Embassy Restaurant & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing