We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service!”
Review of U-Thai Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

U-Thai Restaurant and Bar
Price range: US$20 - US$34
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the new. U-Thai Restaurant&Bar. We are proud to be serving our delicious classical Thai cooking in Southport.We at U-Thai, aim to give you the ultimate Thai dining experience. Our aim is to create the authentic flavors that you would expect to experience in Thailand, prepared by our chefs who have worked in top class hotels and have had experience in this country for over a decade.We use authentic Thai fresh herbs and ingredients freshly flown in weekly from Thailand. All our dishes are freshly prepared and cooked to order using tradition methods. We want you to experience authentic Thai dining.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I eat here at least a couple of times a month. We make sure to tell everyone we know about it, and take our friends and family here whenever we have visitors. Obviously as we go so often, we've tried lots of things on the menu, and have yet to be disappointed. We strongly recommend the chicken satay and spring rolls to start, with a massaman curry and chicken with cashew nuts for mains. We could eat it every day! The service is very pleasant and efficient, we never have to look for someone to order a drink or for any additional items - everything runs very smoothly. Cant credit the team enough, thanks for your hard work every time we come in!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scarlet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover272014, Guest Relations Manager at U-Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for giving us a great review on TripAdvisor, it great to see that it is another positive one. Looking forward to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Pim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Dined as a family of four, found the restaurant spacious, nicely decorated, prices very reasonable. Good selection of Thai food. Wine list small. Pad Thai was, as it always is in many restaurants, a good rendition. Food was tasty but not over the top. If you love Thai food then you will find U Thai good. If your looking for something different from the usual food affair, then you will enjoy the different tastes. Nice lounge on the main floor, upper level seating, washrooms were clean and everyone was friendly. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover272014, Guest Relations Manager at U-Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi, Thank you for taking your time in giving U-Thai a review.

Its always great to see that's it another positive one. We look forward to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Pim Uthai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked table for 8 for four of us. Arrived 10 mins early and went straight to table. Took order, starter arrived 1 hour later, main course arrived at 9-45. Food was good but got very irritated at having to wait so long. Staff were not overly friendly and certainly not attentive.

Our oldest son was also at restaurant with his girlfriend and family, they arrived at 7 and finally left at 9-45. They too were not happy about the long wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeteandAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover272014, Guest Relations Manager at U-Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to giving us a review.

I am sorry for the slow service due to 'Women's British Open' week and we were extremely busy with everyone wanting the table at the same time, and all dishes made were made freshly to ensure that it properly cooked to our standard. I have discuss this matter with our Head Chef and can assure that this will not happen again in the future.

Kind Regards

Pim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went there for lunch with my friend on Monday. The food was tasty and staff was lovely. Also we meet the boss in there. He is a lovely man. He made us very welcome.

Thank Sufiyana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover272014, Guest Relations Manager at U-Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi, Thank you for taking your time in giving U-Thai a review, its always great to see that's it another positive one. We look forward to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Pim Uthai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Struggled to find it as it's down a back street but so glad we did. Lovely building and the service and food was excellent too. The grilled satay starter for two is excellent. The red curry wasn't as spicy as I'd have liked but the flavour was still very good. Looking forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank m7key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover272014, Guest Relations Manager at U-Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for giving us a review, its always a pleasure to see that this is another positive feedback. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you delicious Thai food. We look forward to be seeing you again.

Kind Regards
PIm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U-Thai Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Ainsdale, Southport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing